Review: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

I tried…  I tried so hard to resist this, because I know the moment I find one product that I like from a certain brand, I’ll hop onto the bandwagon and buy alllll their products. But alas, I have given in to temptation – I lamented and wailed to my friends that I’d betrayed Sulwhasoo, but being wonderful girlfriends, they told me that I’m actually a loyalist to my skin. Totally feeling the love 😀

SK-II Facial Treatment EssenceSK-II Facial Treatment Essence

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence (1)

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence info

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence (2)A watery liquid that is quickly absorbed (or should I say partially evaporated?)

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence (3)

I say…

Fine, so my review is prolly 10 million light years slower than the entire world, but hey, I eventually got on the bandwagon didn’t I?

  • You guys all know I’m a major skincare sucker, so why didn’t I join the SK-II revolution before? For one very, very simple (and possibly shallow) reason – the scent (or rather, the lack of it). Have you guys smelled this SK-II Facial Treatment Essence before? Yes I know that it’s fermented (or something close), but there’s simply no other politically correct way I can go about this – it stinks. It feels like I’d taken my girlfriend’s baby boy’s peed-in diapers and rubbed it on my face. sheesh.The Comedone Formula smells wayyy better than this in comparison, and even that doesn’t smell nice.
  • Why am I putting up with the scent stench then? Simply cos it’s a good product (and also because I’ve learned how to hold my breath until I slather the next product on – Olympics diving, here I come!).
  • As it is so aptly termed, yes it is miracle water indeed. It makes my skin clearer and more radiant, perhaps by a quarter of a shade?
  • My skin is definitely softer after application.
  • Sadly, it also doesn’t shrink pore size. If a product can do all these, it’ll prolly be from the fountain of youth.
  • I apply it using a cotton pad, and I like that it’s also suitable for application around the eye area (well, that’s what the instruction sheet says anyway).
  • With what’s leftover on the cotton pad, I have been ritually wiping it on the back of my left hand. Now, if I compare both hands, the left hand has less fine lines and doesn’t look as dry.
  • If there’s still some dampness on your cotton pad, you can try applying it on your elbows as well – hey this has got to be one of the more expensive toners in the market, so maximise it.
  • But that said, I’ve heard many protests that it shouldn’t actually be classified as a toner – it’s a lightweight essence /skincare booster supposedly, one that comes after your toner but before any boosters, emulsions or serums. Take your pick – I use it as a toner.

I’m convinced enough by the results to continue using this despite the stench. If you’ve got a strong nose, go forth and buy a bottle! 😀 You can also check out this review of SK-II Facial Treatment Essence.

 

14 thoughts on “Review: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

  1. i took the plunge a few months back, and I am finishing the half of the bottle even though it stinks… and for me, I was disappointed! my skin still looks the same even when i use it religiously. but oh well, gotta try it before i know! i have heard many ppl rave about it, but some ppl say it doesn’t work, and i gotta say im 1 of those who say it doesn’t work for me!

    • Sorry for randomly butting into your comment, but if you are going to try it, I would suggest buying the 30 mL sample size one first~ instead of just taking the plunge like me and getting the full size (which cost me $150 CAD…..)

      just a suggestion~^^

  2. Pingback: SK-II Cellumination Essence | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  3. Pingback: SK-II Stempower Essence | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  4. Pingback: Review: SK-II Stempower Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  5. Pingback: Review: The Face Shop Smim Fermentation Concentrate Total Treatment | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  6. Pingback: Event: SK-II Power of Pitera for Eyes Workshop | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  7. Pingback: Review: Nature Republic The First Essence | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  8. Pingback: Review: IOPE Bio Essence Intensive Conditioning | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  9. Pingback: Round-up: 5 Treatment Toners to Try | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  10. Pingback: Review: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence Eye | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  11. Pingback: Review: Heaven by Deborah Mitchell Bee Venom Mask | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a comment