Review: CLIO Professional Kill Black Waterproof Brush Liner

During the week, I like to pretend that I’m Clark Kent going incognito at work, with glasses and minimal makeup. Come the weekend, BAM! I unleash my awesomeness upon the world.

Ok, I’m not really a dazzling blinding beauty, but you get what I mean. During the weekend, I get to play dress up and look prettier than I usually do. I prefer not to dress up for office cos:

  1. I’d rather spend that extra 15 mins sleeping  in the morning.
  2. I feel that office makeup should be kept a bare minimal to maintain professionalism.
  3. After working in magazines for 5 years, I have come to the sad realisation that there really isn’t anyone to impress in the office – majority of magazine peeps are women or gays who will be more fabulous than me even when they’re sleeping.

Over the last weekend, I was preparing my face to head out when I was faced with a dilemma. With more time comes more makeup choices. What eyeliner should I use?

CLIO Professional Kill Black Waterproof Brush Liner – SGD25.90

As you may have noticed, I like to keep all my products in their original boxes even after opening, unless I’m carrying them around in my makeup pouch. Strange much, I know.

Immensely black, amazingly thin

 

Top: Laneige Natural Eyeliner, Bottom: CLIO Professional Kill Black Waterproof Brush Liner

The C (which clearly stands for CLIO) has a very slight shimmer to it –  like how our roads are so black they kind of glitter in the sun?

Both are double-stroked and the intensity of the black is comparable. It depends on what sort of black you want.

The rub test: The CLIO liner is more resistant!

Application and Effects

I wore it for the whole day and it stayed. Wow. I say buy it because:

  • It is indeed, as it claims, waterproof.
  • It is smudge-proof.
  • It could possible be oily eyelid-proof as well.
  • The brush tip is fine and soft – gives you good control without poking your eyeballs out.
  • It comes with a spring-loaded cap so that you’ll always know when you’ve closed the cap properly – the “click” sound does the job.

Looks like for once, the advertisement does not lie. Check out how awesome Lee Hyori 이효리 looks. Apparently 50,000 pieces were sold on the day it was launched, and it’s now known as the “Lee Hyori eyeliner”.

Available in black and brown

For only S$25.90, it’s an amazingly underrated brand in Singapore. Buy it nao!

6 thoughts on “Review: CLIO Professional Kill Black Waterproof Brush Liner

  1. Pingback: Hera CC Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  2. Pingback: Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  3. Hi Dalja. Would you please help me to decide which one of the eyeliners (clio professional kill black or laneige natural black) do you prefer for me? I always have problem with eyeliner. Everytime i applied eyeliner (pencil, gel, liquid, crayon), i had panda eyes. It seems always smudge on me. I live in Germany but i do really want to purchase the eyeliner which is not lightly smudge/smudgeproof, waterproof or perhaps oilproof too.

    • Hi Rani, in this case I’d actually recommend The Saem Eco Soul Waterproof Push Liner – it’s everything-proof and stays on the entire day. I’ve got the review on my blog too. 🙂

      • I saw a review that says The Saem Eco Soul Waterproof Push Liner is totally non-waterproof. Well,, i saw it at sophietraverse.blogspot 😦 What other eyeliner do you know that does not smudge ?

      • Hey ella, hmm that’s really strange. I have it on right now and I wear it on a daily basis and it absolutely doesn’t budge till the end of the day. Etude House has a Dear My eye Line (or something similar) eyeliner with a vase-like body – this is relatively smudge proof too but not as long wearing as the Face Shop Twinkle liner and the Saem one 🙂

Leave a comment