Review: Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Water Fresh Makeup

I haven’t had much luck recently with finding an awesome new foundation/cushion foundation that’ll work wonders on my skin and long days – essentially, it’s all about that base (product) hurhurhur. Will my tides change with this Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Water Fresh Makeup foundation?

Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Water Fresh Makeup – SGD$68

Using shade 1W1 Bone

An hour post-application – you can see some shine peeking through already (and this is even after setting with a powder)

I say…

The Packaging: A rather short and stout glass bottle with a twist-cap. What I have the biggest issue with is the dispensing of the product – there’s no nozzle, no pump, no pinhole. Instead, you get this plain ‘ole simple opening – the size of the bottle makes it convenient to just tip the whole bottle over (with your finger placed firmly over the opening), so whatever is on your fingertip (after you tip the bottle back upright) is available for application on the face. You can’t just pour it on the back of your hand either, because it’s pretty liquid/fluid, and you might end up with more-than-expected foundation. But why tho? I find it rather medieval, messy, and more importantly, unhygienic. I hear that they have pumps (sold/given separately), but that’s just silly mucho.

The Scent: None.

The Texture/Finish: Like the La Mer Luminous Lifting Cushion and the YSL Touche Eclat Cushion, this also gives a very comfortable, natural and brightened finish. This lightweight foundation spreads easily on the skin to give a mostly-radiant finish, but unfortunately doesn’t have high sebum control. The shine starts appearing just an hour after application. The coverage is light-medium – you can see in the photo above that my dark eye circles are pretty visible, as well as the redness around the corners of the nose and the blemishes on the chin.

The Verdict: I’m pretty meh on this. Firstly, the dispensing irks me – who still uses such types of bottles? There’s also a lack of scent which is good for those with sensitive skin, but it just means one less draw of the product (i.e. no scentsorial experience). (Side note: this is also formulated without parabens and sulfates). Though it does give a lovely natural finish and is buildable without getting cakey, it has minimal-to-no oil control, and doesn’t stay long on my combi-oily skintype either, fading after just 2 hours (a plus point is that it doesn’t oxidise). Overall, probably not something I’d reach for by default, and defo not something I’d be repurchasing.

Pricing & Availability: SGD$68, Sephora.

3 thoughts on “Review: Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Water Fresh Makeup

  1. I just don’t understand why high end brands keep releasing foundation in plain bottles. Are they too broke for pumps? I have oily skin and I don’t think I’ll purchase this foundation. Have you tried Clinique’s super balanced foundation ? It really keeps my oil in check.

Leave a comment