Review: Maybelline Lasting Drama Pen Gel Liner

These days I’ve been obssessed over Girls’ Day and their image in Expectation. I was all like “daymn! I wanna be like you guys!” Until I found out that they’re 18 (or barely 18?!). And then I was like “oh hell no, you’re way too young for this, gurl!”

What the hell am I talking about? Check out their image in the MV – totally skanky, slutty and hawt!

girls day squatsThis is no easy feat – you’ll need thighs of steel to do it. I tried, and I damn near keeled over.

girls day tit fanningThis tit-fanning, reverse bodeh wave is awesome!

girls dayAm loving, loving their eye makeup for this! They actually kinda remind me of Sistar, but a way underaged version.

girls day eyelinerAm lovinggggggggg her eyeliner style.. which is why I’m reviewing the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner today heh.

photoI looks like them? no? ok la, I tried. Even did my hair in a vavavoom style. haha.

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (1)

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen LinerThe ingredients were on the plastic wrapper, and I was too eager to use it, so I took this photo against my crappy tabletop instead. heh. Yes I know I need to get a new table.

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (2)It’s a twist-open cap, so don’t go trying to yank it off. There’s also a plug to prevent the gel from leaking out, though I doubt that’ll happen unless some itchy-finger customer decided to turn-twist the end (which dispenses the gel).

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (3)Check out how ridiculously soft and flexible the tip is!

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (4)And voila! It’s not really first light, but first gel!

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (5)look at le beautifully intense deep black line.. wooo.

Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Pen Liner (6)This photo didn’t come out as clearly as I wanted, but just to show you the color intensity – even when the camera’s not focused, it’s still so rich.

I say…

I’m loving this! Any eyeliner freak should know that the intensity of a gel eyeliner is the richest, but gel also tends to smudge. When I first tried it at the Maybelline Dream Mousse launch, I was pretty impressed by it, but I think they didn’t have stock back then. Well now, it’s finally in my hands now, my precioussss.

  • It’s way, way more convenient to use than traditional gel pots and brushes.
  • All you have to do is click-turn, and the gel is dispensed out.
  • The flat angled tip makes for easy application directly, but Larry advocates dispensing a blob onto the back of your hand (like how I did in my swatches), and then using the tip to pick it up and apply. This will give you more control during application, and also lessens the risk of uneven blobs of gel on your lids.
  • If you choose the second appliation method, note that cos this gel is relatively smudge-proof, so you may find it hard to remove from the back of your hand (especially if you’re touching up at a public toilet).
  • The colour is rich and deep black -major loves-
  • It’s also long lasting and relatively smudge proof – give it ample time to set and dry (don’t immediately fidget or touch it after application. a good 15-30 seconds should be sufficient).
  • I give it 4-5 hours of intense blackness, following which it starts to fade to a normal black.
  • It’s waterproof, in case you didn’t realise from the ad below. heh.
  • I find that it lasts better on the upper lids than the lower lids – not sure if it’s cos my eyebags are so huge that they keep brushing against the top lids (when I sneeze, squint or yawn), which results in slight smudging.

I think the last time I passed by, this was going at an introductory price of $19.90 vs $24.90. I think it’s pretty worth the money, especially for its performance and convenience.

maybelline gel pen liner

7 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline Lasting Drama Pen Gel Liner

  1. hey!! I got it after reading your review… $17.90 or smthg like that in watsons.. they were having a sale, not sure if still on. it can last quite well, I’ve got oily lids like you as well, used it during my crazy shopping trip in hot hot bkk, smudged just a little- which is quite a feat already =D

    • hey xu yin,
      IKR! It’s quite tough finding a good eyeliner that has minimal smudge, especially in hot humid weathers.. Glad you managed to score a good product 😀

  2. Pingback: My NEW eyeliner! | Tempted To Love

    • Hey Karmen, I’m not sure about the US markets, but since this was launched in June 2013, I think it should be in stores in the US by now.. Perhaps you can try searching on Amazon? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Review: Benefit They’re Real! Push-up Liner | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  4. Pingback: Review Delineador They’re Real Push Up Liner | Coritadefresa

Leave a comment