Review: Panasonic Eyelash Curler

Sorry for the slight hiatus guys – you know me, I’m so committed to my blog that the only reasons I will not blog are if it’s the weekend (and I’m out frittering my money and delighting all beauty store sales staff countrywide) or if I’m sick. Unfortunately, during the last few days, both my wallet and I were sick – the wallet was suffering from a bad case of the Don’t-Have-Money-itis, while I was down with gastroenteritis (which essentially meant that I was becoming BFFs with the toilet).

During the brief periods that I didn’t feel like keeling over, I actually managed to gather up some energy to prepare some materials for my blog reviews. Since looking like an over-bleached bedsheet doesn’t make for a great selfie (it’ll be somewhere in the vicinity of gruesome methinks), I decided to review this item instead.

Panasonic Eyelash Curler1Panasonic EH-SE60 Eyelash Curler

Panasonic Eyelash Curler4

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler2What makes this different from other heated eyelash curlers? It rotates. In TWO directions. It be rollin’ rollin’ rollin’. OOOH.

 

 

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler3Setting a different rotation direction will give different intensities of curls.

 

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler7The eyelash curler is in a bright hot pink case that’s about 15-16 cm long, and comes with a cleaning brush.

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler8

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler9A pretty idiot-proof method of inserting the AA battery – just turn it. To close it, just fit the marking to the dot, and turn again.  It might seem a pretty blah to bring to attention, but trust me, this is a really understated feature of any gadget. Girls have nails, and we don’t like gouging or yanking. Isn’t our genetic engineering wonderful? hah.

 

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler11

 

Now here’s the operating mechanism – when holding the device in your hand, slide it up/down to switch on or off. When you see 0, it means it’s switched off, and when you see 1, it means it’s switched on.

Notice the frosted button in the centre? That controls the rotation direction. Depending on which hand you’re holding it in, the two directions will give you a different effect.

 

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler6

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler10

 

A colour indicator of the heat temperature before you accidentally touch it with your fingers. The spiral portions are actually made of plastic and won’t get too hot, while what’s inside (the darker portion) is the metal portion that generates heat.

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler5Application method is essentially the same as your typical eyelash curler – start from the roots and then move to the tips of the lashes.

 

Now, I’m going to be showing photos that have no makeup on whatsoever – sure, I know you’d be horrified (you can join in me in almost-pooping my pants) but the point of this is to not distract you with fancy stuff (eyeshadows, eyeliners, coloured lenses etc). Like the Big Bad Wolf said – all the more better (for you) to see (the effects of the curler) with.

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler12L: Poker-straight lashes (and a vaguely intense stare).

R: You can see the tippy-ends of my lashes peeking out after 2 rounds of heat curling (without rotation). All I did was to hold the heated curler in place for a few seconds, and then move it upwards, and hold it in place for several more seconds.

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler13And here are the lashes after using the rotation. To be really honest, I kinda ditched the instructions at this point cos I was getting so confused about the curler rotating inwards or outwards. I just went with the direction that rotated towards me (from the bottom) and then went upwards.

 

Panasonic Eyelash Curler14

And the finishing touch: A coat of Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara to seal the deal

 

I say…

  • This comes in a pretty convenient packaging that’s easy to carry around, but to be honest, if you do it right at home, you should be able to maintain the curls most of the day. (provided you also apply a good mascara).
  • The rotation (thankfully) doesn’t snag any of my lashes.
  • When applying this, what I did was to use a hand mirror so that I could get a closer look – I didn’t want to be scalding my waterline by accident.
  • That said, it’s built to minimise burns – the spiral portion that comes into contact with your lashes and lash line is actually made of plastic, so the heat transferred is minimal.
  • The spiral portion is also said to help separate your lashes for more definition, but if you’re applying it onto pre-mascara eyelashes, you shouldn’t need any separation.
  • Did I also mention that they’re suitable for falsies too?
  • Beauty tip: You can also attempt to use this on your bottom lashes too , which can tend to stick out straight, thus giving the illusion of no-lashes.
  • Beauty tip: It’s been said that you shouldn’t curl your lashes after mascara because they might break your lashes. I’m not sure of any proof for/against this theory, but if you really must curl after mascara, make sure that your mascara is fully dried.
  • Now you guys know that my blog prides itself on truthful  reviews – there’s a learning curve for this product. It will be quite a switch from the traditional curler over to this, and you will need practice before you can get the effect I got in my photos.  It will take more time than the normal eyelash curlers too.
  • This is not the item that you pull out just before a hot date or an important appointment – like drawing the perfect eyeline, you will require practice.
  • Start with baby steps – with no rotation, use it along the length of your eyelash from the root to the top. This will help you to gauge how to hold it, as well as how long is needed. The timing differs from person to person – my lashes are as stubborn and straight as Lady Gaga’s Poker (face), so I had to spend quite some time on them.
  • Once you’ve gotten the hang of it, start with one direction and then the other. Using a trial-and-error method, work out to see which direction  suits your lashes best – be it one or the other, or even a combi of both.
  • To be honest, you can also choose to use it without the rotation. Whatever rocks your boat, go for it 🙂
  • Gotten your perfectly-curled lashes at long last? Don’t forget to apply a good mascara with uplifting effects to help seal in the effects.
  • Beauty tip: Before you brush off and poo-pooh the amount of effort that goes into using this curler, note that using heated eyelash curlers (with a well-trained hand) have benefits.
  1. You don’t pull/tug on your natural lashes.
  2. You can reach the harder-to-reach nooks, especially the inner corners and the roots of the lashes to give them a greater boost and uplift.

 

 

That said, as with every single thing that you place near your eyes (be they heated , cooled, or a raw potato), you should be careful so as to protect your eyes. Random much I know, but  potatoes came to mind cos I’m starving after being on a liquid diet for almost a week now. Hah.

Nonsensical musing aside, I’d recommend this for beauty junkies who are in pursuit of the perfectly-curled set of lashes, and have the time to spare for this perfection. 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to vote for me as Best Beauty Blog please! It’s the last stretch – only 3 days to go! I know the state of the please doesn’t make a difference, but pretty please? 😀

3 thoughts on “Review: Panasonic Eyelash Curler

  1. Pingback: SBA PLUS » A Beauty Blogger’s Must-Haves

  2. Pingback: Beauty Tutorial: How to do Korean eye makeup | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  3. Pingback: SBA PLUS » Beauty Tutorial: How To Channel Your Inner Kpop Star

Leave a comment