Review: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation

I’m becoming quite the fan of Bobbi Brown makeup – yes I know they do have long history of having awesome makeup, but it’s only recently that I really explored and got to know the brand better. When getting this foundation, the BA actually tried on 3 different shades, and on different portions of the face (and not just the jawline) to get your perfect match. I must say that this is indeed one of the closest matches for foundations that I’ve ever had. Mucho impresso I yam.

Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation

I use shade Sand 2

I say…

The Packaging: A glass bottle with a pump dispenser that’s covered by a click-on cap. Pretty fuss-free and simple – I mean, how fanciful can a foundation bottle get, right?

The Scent: Nil.

The Texture: It’s rather watery (and not creamy), so I was expecting a rather lightweight/natural finish. However, as I was spreading it out (and it does blend easily and smoothly), it actually settled into a medium finish that gives decent coverage. There’s a slight glowy radiance (possibly due to the light reflecting particles?), but it does have a rather matte finish

The Verdict: This is one of my favourite foundations at the moment! It may not have the highest coverage (concealer is still required), but I do like the finish that’s a good balance of matte and dewy – the skin has radiance where it’s needed (i.e. the cheekbones and nose bridge), and matte at other areas like the cheeks and forehead. The finish is really natural – it’s almost like my real skin (if I had no blemishes and all that jazz). If you’re looking to con a dude (who doesn’t know makeup well hurhurhur) that you’ve got naturally awesome skin, this would be one to try (well, La Mer also gives a similar effect, but at a much pricier tag). I also like that it doesn’t oxidise nor get patchy even after a long day – it does fade/melt tho, and looks like I have no (or minimal) makeup on. That said, the staying power is about 4-6 hours before it disappears. Overall, I’d say this is a foundation to put on the must-try list. 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation

  1. I am a HUGE Bobbi Brown fan, mostly because the colour range for foundation is fantastic. As a South Asian it is hard to find foundation that actually matches and BB has foundations and concealors and with options! Try the Longwear Even Finish- that stuff doesn’t budge. The skin serum is really nice but awkward to work with the dropper. If they changed their packaging I would go with it.

    • I’ve got several other Bobbi Brown foundations that I’m super keen on opening now that i’ve heard your comments 😀 You’re right about the skin serum though, the dropper is just cumbersome.

  2. Hi Cheryl, is it possible for you to try Giorgio Armani Power Fabric Foundation and Nars All Day Weightless Luminous Foundation?

Leave a Reply

