Review: Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil

Ever since I ran out of makeup remover wipes and my memory fails me once too often (when I remember to buy, I’m not near a Watsons. When I am physically near a Watsons, I forget that I’ve got something to buy – ballocks to me right?!), I’ve had to resort to digging into my stash to unearth some makeup removal products – which are cleansing oils. I had a pretty good experience with Shu Uemura’s Anti:Oxi, so I’ve decided to make like an oil exploration company and move on to another oil that I’d received when I visited Fancl’s Hong Kong office earlier this year.

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil (1)Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil (2)

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil (3)Testing the oil out on It Cosmetics CC Cream as well as a random long-stay black eyeliner

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil (4)

Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil (5)

 

I say…

The Packaging: It comes in a plastic bottle with a pump top. Unlike Shu Uemura’s Cleansing oil, this bottle doesn’t have the turn-lock mechanism – once you remove the little plastic portion that prevents the pump from being pushed down, that’s it. I guess you could also replace the little plastic bit if you’re thinking about bringing this on travels though. The slight concave shape of the body allows for a better grip.

The Scent: There isn’t a fragrance to this, but it does have a smell that isn’t the most pleasant. It’s not offputting though – it’s just not your usual scents (presumably due to the absence of preservatives in its products).

The Texture: It’s slightly thicker and more viscous than Shu’s Cleansing oilΒ  (which is slightly more watery/runny). It’s not greasy/sticky though – I prefer this slightly “thicker” consistency cos it feels more substantial when I’m massaging it into my face. After massaging with damp fingers, it emulsifies into a more watery consistency, and there’s slight froth spotted.

The Verdict: It rinses off relatively easily, leaving the skin soft and not stripped dry. Makeup is mostly removed (but be sure to do a thorough massage, especially for those hard-to-remove mascaras such as my current fave from Browhaus -but it does remove!-and corners of the nose, etc). I still need to follow up with my usual cleansing foam though. Overall, a pretty decent cleansing oil to try out (and I can now see why people were disappointed when Fancl first withdrew from Singapore).

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil

Leave a Reply

