Review: Shu Uemura Anti-Oxi Skin Refining Anti-Dullness Cleansing Oil

I’ve always shied away from using cleansing oils – yes, like everyone else, I also have this common misconception that since my skin already was oily, there really wasn’t a need to “add on extra oil” by using a cleansing oil. But hey, why not try it out with one of the best known and most popular cleansing oils out there – from Japanese brand Shu Uemura.

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (1)

Shu Uemura Anti-Oxi Skin Refining Anti-Dullness Cleansing Oil 150ml – SGD$55

 

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (6)

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (2)Turn anti-clockwise so that the notch matches the notch below, and this unlocks the pump.

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (3)

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (4)

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Anti Oxi Cleansing Oil (5)

I say…

The Packaging: Since I got the smaller bottle, it’s a slim long bottle with a pump dispenser that also comes with a simple lock system. Turn it anti-clockwise so that the notches are aligned (see photo above), and you can pump out the oil.  The larger bottle is fatter and therefore more stable (but that’s not to say that this one isn’t stable – comparatively and logically speaking, a fatter base has more stability than a smaller base).

The Scent: I love the scent – it’s a mild combination of mandarin (and I even smell some cucumber, although I’m not sure about that). It’s slightly refreshing and not overly fragrant nor overpowering.

The Texture: It’s a rather lightweight oil – not too thick and viscious, but still watery enough to run. I pump 2 pumps into the palm of my hand, and spread it all over my dry face, massaging it gently as I go around. This results in the makeup being melted slightly (see photos above).  I then run my fingers under water to moisten them, and then continue massaging my face to emulsify the oil.

The Verdict: Most of the makeup is removed, such as the foundation and lip makeup. The skin is left feeling soft, smoothen and relatively cleansed. I say “relatively” because I prefer something that gives a deeper cleanse, so I normally follow up with a cleanser +  clarisonic combination. That said, I probably wouldn’t use this for eye makeup (even though it is suitable), because I’m just a bit clumsy and worried that the oil will drip into the eyes. Super tough and everything-proof mascara will still require a special mascara remover, and the same goes for ultra tough lippie stains such as Peripera’s Lip Ink. I’ve been using this for several weeks now, and thankfully, I haven’t had any breakouts. Also, my combi oily skin has taken pretty well to this – it doesn’t feel any much oilier despite the “extra oil” used. I’m glad to say that combi oily skin can indeed take to cleansing oils – just that this might be better for days when you’re wearing lighter makeup, which is unlike me and my war paint face 😀

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Shu Uemura Anti-Oxi Skin Refining Anti-Dullness Cleansing Oil

  1. I love this cleansing oil, I’ve tried a lot of them from Shu Uemura but this one is hands down my favorite! It’s also the only one that doesn’t irritate my eyes when I remove mascara/eye makeup. I totally agree with you it smells great. Also the lock on the pump is very secure I have brought it on planes with me and it was just fine. I finally upgraded to the big bottle but I love the smaller one for travel.

  2. Pingback: Review: Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

