Review: Gel Nail art at BeauMax Nails, International Building

Now I’ve only done gel-based nails once in my life (those that require UV lights to cure and set), and judging from my level of clumsiness, I really ought to be doing it more often than I do the classic ones (which take a longer time to dry and set, and also chip a lot more easily). I tried out BeauMax a couple of weeks back, and here’s what went down.

BeauMax: 360 Orchard Road, #09-08, International Building

(Note that this is the building located next to Shaw Lido in Orchard)

Contact: 6720 3878 (for same-day apptmt)

BeauMax Nails (1)A lovely little corner to wait while I do my first-timer form-filling.

BeauMax Nails (2)A cosy little corner to wait before/after your mani/pedis/facials. On the right you’ll see a little doorway that leads to the mani/pedi area.

BeauMax Nails (3)What a pleasant surprise – this place is really prettily decorated! These seats are for the pedicures, while those looking to do manicures will be seated a table (not pictured).

BeauMax Nails (4)I’m given a selection of nail designs/colours to choose from…

BeauMax Nails (5)The Gudetama craze is errwhere, from BB cushions to blushers and now, nails!

BeauMax Nails (6)While I get my nails done, I keep myself entertained by checking out their portfolio of works – I am so, so fascinated by the 3D works, especially the little elephant with dat trunk.

And voila – here’s the finished product – baby pink polka dot-and-lace ๐Ÿ˜€ You can check out their Instagram for a clearer photo of my nails.

Beaumax Shattered glass nailsMy second nail art with them – the shattered glass nail that supposedly originated from Korea ๐Ÿ˜€

Beaumax shattered glass nails 2

The entire process was’t particularly fast nor slow – I think it took just over an hour to get my nails done (including shaping, filing and grooming the nails). The staff were attentive, totally knew what I wanted to do (in terms of the nail art), and more importantly, not pushy. You know what’s the best part about this place? Your soak-off is FREE – take for example, if you do a standard one-colour gel-based manicure for $65, the next time you return to do a soak-off, it’s included in the $65 already! Totes worth it, I tell you.

The Cost:

  • Prices start from $65 for a basic one-colour gel-based manicure, and $78 for a gel-based pedicure.
  • If you decide to do a two- or three-tone colour, it’s an additional $15 for the full set of fingers, or $25 for the full set of toes.
  • Fresh: +$25 (for full set ofย fingers/toes)
  • 3D nail art: +$100
  • Polka dots: +$15 (for full set)

It’s been 2 weeks and most of my nails are still intact (and I love that it’s not particularly thick so I can still slide my nails under surfaces i.e. open a can drink or peel a sticker). A pretty cosy place to get your nails done, if you ask me.

BeauMax: 360 Orchard Road, #09-8, International Building (next to Shaw Centre that houses Lido cinemas)

Contact: 6720 3878 (for same-day apptmt)

2 thoughts on “Review: Gel Nail art at BeauMax Nails, International Building

  1. Pingback: Review: Fresh Sugar Sport Treatment | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  2. Pingback: Review: MAC Lightful C Quick Finish Compact | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

