Review: Blotterazzi by Beauty Blender

Hello yall ! How’s your week been? Terrible without my reviews, yes yes? Shameless much I know heh. I was outta the country to attend the wedding of the year, and being maid of honour (again), I was running around like a mad hatter as usual. The fact that it took place in Thailand certainly did not help in keeping me cool (although I must say I was pretty calm and collected heh). Anyhoos, the humidity at the area I was in measured a whopping 94% – I’m never gonna complain about Singapore’s 70-80+% anymore. Seriously, the clothes took 2-3 days to dry without direct sunlight cos there was so much moisture in the air zomg. This meant that the sebum glands were also in major overdrive- and I put this to the test.

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (1)Blotterazzi by BeautyBlender – SGD$36

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (7)

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (2)

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (3)

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (4)

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (6)

Beauty Blender Blotterazzi (5)

I say…

The Packaging: it comes in a rather well made and solid teardrop-shaped casing that has an inbuilt mirror and opens up to reveal two teardrop-shaped sponges. These are made from the same sponge material as the popular BeautyBlender makeup sponge applicator.

The Texture: The sponges are soft and slightly fluffeh. They’re not abrasive and soft to the touch when I press them to the face.

The Usage: The recommended application method is to press the tapered portion for harder-to-reach / smaller areas such as the corners to the nose, while the bigger area (bottom of the teardrop) can be used for larger areas such as the cheek and forehead. The instruction sheets say to press it gently against the skin to soak up any excess sebum or oil from the skin.

The Verdict: When I first got wind of this product, I was how excited maxxxx. I know blotting the skin isn’t particularly good but I just can’t deal with the shiny kwali greasy look, so I still do it with blotting sheets and tissue paper which left an unsightly trail of used sheets in my bag. Plus, this was touted as a “reusable” blotter. Alas, I’m really disappointed in this. In theory it sounds absolutely feasible and had great product potential, but all it did was to soak up some of my makeup (you can see a slight discolouration at certain portions). Sebum and oil pickup was extremely minimal, if not none. The face was left looking shiny despite me blotting with the sponge several times in 5 minutes. Meh. I followed up with a tissue sheet and blotting sheet on separate occasions and they picked up quite a substantial amount of oil. Thr mediocre (or almost non-performance) simply does not justify me spending $36 at all. The same amount could have gotten me 5-6 packets of 70-film gatsy blotting sheets (350-420 sheets of blotting film), which is one sheet for the entire year, and it doesn’t even require me to wash it. Dear BeautyBlender, your idea works but please keep the sponge material to where it works best – at applying makeup. Tweak the material choice, and you could potentially have a winning product on your hands. In the meantime, I’m sticking to my blotting film sheets and tissue papers.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Blotterazzi by Beauty Blender

  1. Thanks for the review! You saved me money as I need to blot when I’m working. I feel like this and the ‘micro mini’ beauty blender have been flops. They should just stick to what they do well! xo J

Leave a Reply

