Review: MAC Philip Treacy High-Light Powder Poudre Lumiere

How was your long weekend everybardy?! I’m totally not recharged cos I spent it celebrating a friend’s birthday, stuffing my face with 4 Fingers Chicken Wings, beer, homemade kiwi and strawberry tart, and a deconstructed Spam rice burger with korean seasoned seaweed flakes 😀 I know, I know, #firstworldproblems

I decided to somewhat work it off by clearing and organising le makeup stash, and unearthed this unlikely candidate for a blush – now, it’s normally not a colour I would use. I’m usually a guniang (girly) pink, and on days when I’m feeling more swag, I’ll go for coral-pink, but that’s pretty much my spectrum of blush colours. Since my skin is really much better from the various CNP treatments I’ve been doing as well as the new Laneige Sleeping Mask, I decided – hey why not try something different?

MAC High-light powder nude pink (1)MAC Philip Treacy High-light Powder Poudre Lumiere

 

MAC High-light powder nude pink (2)This is Nude Pink, but it also comes in another Blush Pink shade. Notice the silver shimmers?

MAC High-light powder nude pink (4)It’s a very, very subtle pink-nude glow with silver shimmers that aren’t too OTT.

MAC high-light powder nude pink 3And now, notice that the layer of silver shimmers has gone? It’s only a light surface layer dusting that disappears after the first usage.

MAC High-light powder nude pink 5Slightly less shimmery than the First Layer swatch, but still a gorgeous rosy wearable blush-glow

MAC High-light powder nude pink (6)Le face done up with this MAC Philip Treacy High-light Powder as a blush, Etude House’s Stay Up Foundation and Etude House Color In Liquid Lips PK006. Improved jawline courtesy of the V-line Lifting Laser treatment at CNP, and bouncier, smoother skin is from daily application of Laneige’s Water Sleeping Mask 😀 oh, and dark eye circles are courtesy of 4 hours’ sleep. Heh.

 

I say…

The Packaging: It comes in your usual MAC snap-shut plastic black casing with a latch, and it measures about 7.5cm in diameter. It’s lightweight and easy to carry around if you need to, but it doesn’t come with an included brush, so you’ll have to bring your own. The pan is large enough to accommodate the large powder and blush brushes.

The Scent: None.

The Texture: The powder grains are superrrr fine – some might say that it might cause a mushroom-shaped cloud when you dusty it with a brush, but I say to just gently pat the pan with your brush. It’ll pick up the grains easily enough (and because it’s so fine, I don’t really have to pat it to shake off the excess). I love that it doesn’t sink into the pores of the skin.

The Application: When swatched on the finger (skin), it comes across as a pinkish-beige that’s barely visible. However, when applied on the face, I’m really surprised that it comes across as a very, very natural slight rosy almost-light pink glow. The finish is matte, but the powder grains reflect a decent amount of light, which gives is a very beautiful glowy finish. Applying many layers is alright too – it builds up into a very natural glow (not the overly contoured type of feel) (unlike the other MAC Mineralize blusher that may not be suitable for the heavy-handed).

The Verdict: I am SUPER pleasantly surprised by this – I love it! It stays on for a pretty long time (I’m clocking 5 hours and counting), and it gives such a beautiful rosy glow. Even if the silver shimmers are only on the surface, I’m not really fussed about it, cos this is afterall a blusher, and not an eyeshadow/highlighter. Besides my IOPE cushion blusher, this is defo one of my favourite powder blushers at the moment (besides the Guerlain Meteorites Perle de Blush). I highly recommend itttttt – get itttttt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

