Travel/Review: Doing my face at CNP Skin Clinic

Like many, many, many young ladies out there (ok fine, I’m not so young, but that’s not the point), I’m not 100% happy with my looks. I have the usual grudges – my eyes are too small, my nose bridge isn’t high enough, my pores are too big – you get the gist.

Many a time during a girly chat, I have mentioned wanting to undergo cosmetic surgery – I mean, it’s so commonplace these days, especially in my second home Korea. I could fart in myeongdong and at least 5 ladies affected by my noxious gases would have had something done to their faces.

But then again, I have a low (in fact, almost non-existent) threshold for pain. I bet even those pimped-up cars that are ridiculously low and near to the ground could go over my pain threshold with nary a bump. What’s more, while seeing other ladies undergo the procedure and showcasing their recovery process, I could barely hold in my shudders.

Thus, I have decided – I will give up on my notion of wanting to do cosmetic surgery. Instead, I will forever stick double eyelid tape onto my right eye (because I don’t need it for my left eye), and I will polish up my makeup skills and pile on the skincare. However, in order to maximise the results, I need to have awesome skin. Because of this reason (and because I simply had to do something in Korea just for the sake of doing it), I decided to visit CNP Skin to see what they could offer me.

 

CNP Skin Clinic 8

Although I know there are countless skincare clinics / dermatologists / aesthetic clinics etc in Korea, I decided on CNP Skin because my Korean girl friend recommended it. Of course, I also did my due diligence by emailing several other clinics, and the price point of this place was also pretty affordable. In addition, it was super convenient that  I could send in my queries to CNP in English, and their prompt replies were also in simple but comprehensible English.

 

MY PREPARATIONS

My initial email was regarding the removal of remove spots / moles / milia seeds, [their email addy is cnphd@cnpskin.com] and this was the reply I got.

 

We usually use laser device to remove them. It takes 2 hours(about).

After the procedure, the wound will be healed within 7days.

The cost depend on the spot size and how many count. (For example, diameter 5mm spot is 50,000 won/each spot.)

 

I decided to follow up with a photo for further clarification:

 

It’s best to see directly for an accurate diagnosis.

Put simply, I think they removed by Er-YAG laser the spots.

After Laser, do not wash your face for 24 hours.

For 7 days, renew a regeneration tape once every day.

For 1 or 2 days when there is a lot of blood or discharge, replace the tape for more than once.

On the 7th day, when you remove the regeneration tape, the area will be red spot.

Red spot may continue for one month or more.

You should avoid using exfoliating scrub and not to irritate the area.

You can use public bath, sauna, hot sauna, and swimming pool after 2 or 3 weeks from the clinical operation.

For one week from the clinical operation, you’d better not to drink alcohol.

I think the price will be about 150,000~200,000KRW.

If you have any questions, Please reply.

Thank you.

 

It sounded really good – after all  I had paid SGD500 (excluding GST – it was nearly SGD600 after GST) for spot removal back in 2010 at Sloane Clinic in Singapore. For 5 spots. sheesh. Compare that with this time (I counted more than 10 spots!)  – KRW200,000 is only about SGD245. Half the price, double the number of spots?

 

Of course, I was booked for an appointment, and my correspondent recommended that I head to their Yangjae Branch, which is their main branch and also had a translator. They even kindly provided directions.

 

I made the reservation on Friday, 28 March at 11:00 am to the Yangjae Main Center.

The Yangjae Main Center is located at Gangnam area.

Using taxi from the Yangjae Main Center to Best Western Gangnam Hotel is

the fastest way and it would take approximately ten minutes or so to get there.

The fare of taxi is expected 5,000KRW~6,000KRW.

The address of the Yangjae Main Center is “4F, City Band building (Shimhyun Bldg), 952-9, Dogok-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul

서울시강남구강남대로 250 심현빌딩 4층(도곡동 952-9)”.

The call number is 02-3463-1221. [see below for their new address and tel number]

If you changed your schedule, Please reply.

Thank you

 

What’s more, after I informed them of the hotel I was staying at (was in Seoul with Etude House at that time), they even specially did up a directional map from my hotel to the clinic.

directions from hotelIsn’t that nice of them?!

 

HOW TO GET TO CNP SKIN CLINIC, YANGJAE

If you’re going by subway, alight at Yangjae Station, Line 3, Exit 3 or Exit 4.  The photos you see below are all from their previous building/clinic (which is located at a different building but also in the vincinity). Click here for the updated photos/directions 🙂

CNP new map

 -Note: The following photos are all from their previous clinic (they have moved as of January 2015) – 

CNP Skin ClinicIn the lift

CNP Skin Clinic (1)And a very vast difference from the lobby and lift – this place is warmly lit and there are plenty of staff on hand to help you (this photo was taken during their lunch break, which explains the lack of people in the phot0)

CNP Skin Clinic (10)Just go to the counter and give your name.  Some of the staff can speak halting English. They’ll pass you a form and you’ll have to fill up your particulars on the form.

My view from the sofa as I await my turn to consult the doctor

CNP Skin Clinic (3)More of the clinic – the showcase has CNP Laboratory products, and the tester corner is where the staff is standing.

CNP Skin Clinic (11)Ta-dah! You can test out their products here 😀

CNP Skin Clinic (9)My painstakingly pieced-together collage of all their products in the showcase.

CNP Skin Clinic (12)Enough tomfoolery – time to see the doctor! The name on the door is Dr Kim Jae Gyeong.

I didn’t dare to take any photos of her cos I felt like I’d be intruding on her privacy, but she’s  around her late-2os, looks sweet and pretty, is very caring, intelligent and speaks relatively good English.

During the consultation, she asked what were my skin concerns (to which I told her I wanted to remove the spots), and checked my skin. She then explained the removal process (by laser) and told me about post-removal care). By then I was so won over by her that I even asked her to recommend another treatment for me, to which she said that Scaling & Polishing would be suitable.

I was like “whuttt, isn’t that a dental procedure?”

But anyway, she told me it would smoothen the skin’s surface, refine the texture and increase clarity and radiance. Yes please!

THE PROCEDURE

I was then led into a room – in true Korean-style, it’s communal. There are several beds in this room, separated by a cupboard in the middle (for your belongings) and some panels.

 

CNP Skin Clinic (5)Typically Korean-style comforters

Since I was in a room with several other ladies, I didn’t want to be intruding on their privacy by snapping away (that, plus I had to commence my treatment and had to deposit my phone into the cupboard).

Scaling & Polishing involves the following steps (as far as I can remember) done by the staff:

  • Makeup Removal
  • Cleansing and Massage: Ahhh. comfy~
  • Some sort of serum thingy application via a brush (done by the doctor herself), which will be left to set under a mini fan for about 10 minutes.
  • Infra-light thingy
  • Cleansing: Ahhh. refreshing~
  • Extraction: Sonafabitchhhhhhhhhh this hurts. Since I had my eyes closed, I didn’t know what was going on, but I’d feel a prick , and then high-pressure squeezing. This went on all over the face – every. single. blemish. zomg. This went on for about 15-20 minutes (I think? Pain tends to make time pass slower)
  •  Cleansing: Ahhh. soothing~
  • Mask: This is a heavy mask that will set into a peel-off. The therapist will ask whether you want it over your eyes (closed) or not, since some people can get a little claustrophobic. I had it over my eyes and fell asleep. Comfy!
  • Mask removal and gentle cleansing/ rinsing.

And you’re done! I’m not sure if I’ve missed out any steps cos I was dozing off and on. Heh. The entire process, including waiting and consultation time, took about 2 hours. Once you’re done, you can head out to the makeup area (which is a little corridor just beside the waiting area).

 

cnp skin clinic dressing area 2The washbasins also have all the CNP Laboratory products for you to use.

cnp skin clinic dressing area1Here you can put on your makeup, dry your hair, blow it back into shape etc. They’ve got everything you need, including hair spray, hair essence, brushes, pins, etc.

 

 

Now I was totally expecting a red and splotchy face due to the extensive extraction, but I think the mask calmed my skin down completely. My face was not splotchy or red at all. Woah.

CNP Skin Clinic (15)This is me immediately after treatment – the red blotch under my eye is a spot removal with regeneration tape stuck over it. No filters, no photoshop. Not too bad right?

 

THE RESULTS

I. frigging. love. it. There’s no downtime, and my skin was instantly smoother, firmer and more radiant.

Over the next few days, I found that my makeup really glided across the face and I didn’t have to use any much to cover the blemishes. What’s more, it was so smooth that I had a glow to my face!

 CNP Skin Clinic (16)Ta-dah! L: Taken indoors under fluroscent lighting, and R: Facing sunlight. Yes, that’s the regeneration tape to help in the healing process. But yes, mah face is glowinggggggg. P.S. Love the curls done by Jei, my trusted Korean hair stylist!

 

 

PRICE RANGE

  • Scaling & Polishing: KRW150,000. Once a fortnight. For skin smoothness, firmness and radiance. LOVE THIS.
  • Coolgen Therapy: KRW90,000. Once a week. For moisture, dewiness.
  • Detox Program: KRW200,000~400,000 (depending on dosage, composition levels).  Main ingredient: glutathione, a powerful antioxidant that occurs naturally in the body to clear the body of free radicals and toxins that can lead to serious skin problems like hyperpigmentation and melasma, as well as more common ones like sun spots. For whitening.
  • Spot / mole / milia seed removal: KRW50,000~200,000 depending on the number of spots. I paid KRW200,000 for about 15 brown spots removal.
  • Milk Peel Plus Program: KRW180,000 onwards. For gentle skin brightening and radiance improvement. Read my review here.

 

You can’t claim tax back on whatever you spend here (including the products), so what I do is to head over to Olive Young, buy CNP Lab products there, and then claim tax back. Click here to find out how to do tax refunds in Korea.

 

Of course, they have a lot, a lot, a lot of other services and so, so many branches as well (there’s even one in Myeongdong). I’ve heard that Yoo Jae Suk also visits this for his skincare purposes! For more information, check out their English website. When emailing them, you can also mention that you read about their services on my blog, cos when I first emailed in, they did ask about how I heard about them 🙂 Note that this isn’t gonna be one of those luxurious pampering places, but it’s more a medical / skincare functional place.  Go try it out – you will not be disappointed! 😀

 

 

CNP, Yangjae Main Centre [click here for photos of their new clinic]

Address [as of January 2015]
4F, City Band building (Shimhyun Bldg), 952-9, Dogok-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul

3rd Fl, SK Hub Primo building, 240 Gangnamdaero, Gangnam-gu, Seoul Korea

Operating Hours
Weekdays : 11:00 ~ 20:00 / Lunch : 13:00 ~ 14:00
Saturday : 09:00 ~ 17:00 / Lunch : 13:00 ~ 13:30

Contact number [updated as of 10 January 2015]
+82-2-3463-2400

 International email address
cnphd@cnpskin.com

Website

http://www.cnpskin.com/eng/

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Travel/Review: Doing my face at CNP Skin Clinic

  1. Pingback: Travel: How to do a tax refund in Korea | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  2. Nice review! Btw, on the double eyelid tape thing, use double eyelid glue instead. It takes time to get used to applying it properly but after my sister used it for 1 year, she got permanent double eyelids! She no longer has to use the glue anymore

  3. very nice! Love your curls and the glowy face. Did you lose weight? Face seems sharper. Looking very good =)

    • Hey Pauline,
      Heheh I hope I’m losing weight! Been doing weekly Step Aerobics, and am about to receive a weight-loss sponsorship as well 😀
      You should try the treatment – it’s really awesome xoxo

  4. interesting review! btw i am going to korea soon and after reading your post i became interested in the treatments too. is it possible to tell me how long you took so that i can have a rough gauge of the time required?

  5. Hi, the after treatment photo looks not bad…For the Scaling & Polishing, need to do once fortnightly, so this is not a permanent treatment? so is like facial? I have some pimple scars, will this help?

    • Yup it’s essentially an extraction and facial. I think it might help a bit cos it helps smoothen the surface, but the doctor might prescribe something else though. It really depends on your consultation with the doc. One friend did a Whitening treatment cos she wanted to get fairer. Perhaps that might also work for your scars 🙂

      • Tks for your reply. hmm cannot be going so often like u leh…haha…I wonder S’pore has such treatment or not….

      • Actually I just did a treatment recently that’s SUPER awesome. I love it so much, but it’s for pores tightening. Not sure if that’s a skin concern of yours though… The results are super good. My pores shrank visibly and there was very little downtime 👍👍👍

  6. Pingback: Review: CNP Lab A-Clean Spot Finisher | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  7. Pingback: Review: CNP Skin Clinic – Milk Peeling Treatment | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  8. Hello, just want to ask about the recovery of your removal of the brown spots. Are there scars left behind or it was a successful recovery?

    I have been wanting to go for such treatment since years ago, but SG prices are too expensive and outrageous!

    thank you for your kind help!!

    • Hey mel, the brown spot on my face has almost completely vanished – during recovery it’s a bit reddish pinkish, so it’s best that you hide under umbrellas / pile on a lot of sunblock so that it recovers properly (I give it at least a month) 🙂

  9. Pingback: Review: CNP Laboratory Mugener Ampule | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  10. Hi Dalja –
    I’m thinking of traveling in Seoul/Korea for 7-8 days and have always wanted to get these 8 or so mole/freckles zapped! They aren’t huge, some are just a speck while biggest two are probably 1.5-2 mm. How long do they take to not be bleeding/red & then how long before they are not that noticeable? I’m concerned about them healing before I get back to work after my trip, and also maybe it would be too weird to walk around with the zapped moles and bandages seeing the city & historical sites/amusement parks? (not planning on clubbing haha….)
    Thanks!!

    • Hey Ashley,

      If they’re that small they should heal really quickly, but it depends on how deep rooted they are. The leaking and bleeding should stop pretty soon within 1-2 days if they are the shallow sort of spots. The scabs however will take a longer time to fall off (no scratching allowed!).

      in addition, for these spots, they usually issue a regenerative bandage tape – it’s flesh coloured and designed to be stuck on your woulds to absorb the leakage and blood while healing it. They can be purchased at any pharmacy if you run out of the issued ones (really cheap) and can be cut to fit the specific size of the wound. If you’re doing at CNP Yangjae, there’s a pharmacy just a couple of doors down and you can stock up more if you wish.

      to be honest it really doesn’t matter cos I’ve seen girls walking around with half-face masks, swollen eyes, nose splints and zapped spots everywhere – it’s so common in their culture that no one really cares anymore. 🙂 I’ve also walked around with zapped spots while a gf had some fraxel (full face laser) done and she went around with a half-face mask too (and we went clubbing too!)

      I think now that it’s winter, it’ll be even less noticeable since everyone’s got half their faces covered anyway 😀

      Have fun!

  11. Hello, I came across your post while searching for ways to remove milia seeds around my eyes. Totally enjoy reading it and thinking of visiting the clinic too. Could you elaborate more on your experience getting your milia seeds removed? Was there any downtime, such as bruising etc.? Was it painful? Thanks!

    • Hi Lynn,

      There was a consultation with the doctor, following which there would be numbing cream applied (and left to set). Then the doctor would come into the room and zap away the spots – it’s kinda like a hot ciggie burn but on a tiny surface area. It doesn’t really hurt much if the numbing cream is sufficient, but if the spots/millia are deep rooted, it might require a little more zapping to remove it, and you might feel a warm /heat/hot pinching sensation. Overall it’s still bearable. At any time that you feel pain, just squeak or something. The doctor I went to is super alert to such squeaks and very encouraging too.

      there’s no bruising but there is certainly bleeding (for a while, at least on the day itself). If it’s the deeper-rooted types, the bleeding might only stop the next day but you’ll have those renegerative tapes to help absorb all the leaking liquids. Just be sure to change it at the appropriate timing. 🙂

  12. Hi, thank you for your recomendation, I visited CNP in Dec. it was a good experience, not pushy like some facial saloon in S’pore. Maybe they know I am a tourist, or they just doesn’t work in that way like S’pore. U mentioned that they are coming to S’pore. Does their facial aervices coming too?

  13. Pingback: Freckle and mole laser removal in Daejeon, Korea HEALED! : 2 months on. | ✒ the thinking pearl

  14. Pingback: Review / Facial: CNP’s new Yangjae Clinic / Pore Shrinking / V-Line Lifting Laser Treatment | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

