Review/Treatment: PHS Hair Science Detox Restorative Spa Therapy

If I were born in Disneyland and could sing and talk to birds,  my choice would be Rapunzel. Sure, Cinderella makes a pretty good argument considering she had some form of human interaction in the form of her mean stepsisters, but I’m so not spending half my life scrubbing soot and ashes. That chick’s not gonna have a Happy After with her Prince since she might be getting lung cancer. pfft.  I say no to Sleeping Beauty either – halitosis anyone? Instead, Rapunzel will do – despite being locked up in a tower, she does have crazy Herculean strength hair. That girl can whip her hair back n’ forthhhh.

Quite obviously, I like hair. Speaking of hair, there’s way, way, way too many people having ombre-multi-coloured-unicorn-mermaid-rainbow hair these days. I can barely imagine the amount of bleach work the scalp and hair had to endure. Which is why I’m opting for healthy glossy hair now, and for the same reason, which is why I was glad to try out the Detox Restorative Spa Therapy from PHS Hair Science.

Detox Restorative Spa Therapy was developed by a trichologist, using professional range Trichological products. It combines deep cleansing properties with hair regenerating benefits, making it a doubly effective hair loss treatment.

It’s actually the first of a series of steps that you have to undergo – first by Detoxing the hair , Stabilising and then Regrowing.

Each step (Detox, Stabilise and Regrow) will entail a number of  sessions which I am unable to list out, as it will depend on the condition of your hair/scalp. Your therapist should be able to gauge for you.

 

Note that this was known Phyto Hair Spa / Phyto Hair Science. They’ve recently rebranded themselves as  Professional Holistic Solutions (PHS Hair Science) and have recently moved into the new unit at Ngee Ann City Tower B, #05-25A/B.

PHS Hair Science DSR

PHS Hair Science DSR (1)

PHS Hair Science DSR (2)

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (3)First you’re ushered into a consultation room to check your scalp’s condition

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (4)The equipment that’ll be used to scan your scalp and display it in a magnified version inyourface. heh. oh well.

 

I was told I had a slightly oily scalp – which I’d expected – and I’d be put through the Detox regime so as to unclog and clear the hair follicles of dirt and whatever other junk has been deposited there in the last decade.

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (5)

PHS Hair Science DSR (6)Scampering to take some quick shots cos this main area happened to be empty at that very moment. PHS Hair Science has two areas – the Spa area (for treatment) and the Salon area (for hair cuts, blow-dry, and dyes)

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (7)the view whilst you’re lying down and getting your hair rinsed

 

And then, it was time to enter the room.

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (8)Zomg, such relaxation beckons me in the form of a massage chairs – this room is dimly lit to create a cosy ambience and comes with almost everything you could want for a stress-release session. I know my photos are a lil fuzzy, so see below for a clearer pic.

PHS Hair Science DSR (17

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (9)There’s even an ipad pre-loaded with HUNDREDS of movies and even Korean dramas for you to enjoy. Aww you guys really know me well.

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (10)A cuppa for you?

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (11)

And let the D of the DSR commence! For this Detox session, there are 7 steps (if I remember correctly):

  1. Hair/scalp mask
  2. Hair shampoo
  3. Wash
  4. 20-minute shoulder and back massage with essential oil
  5. Hair/scalp Serum
  6. Infra Red Light session
  7. Blow-dry/styling

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (12)Fear not, little ones, I come in piss peace

 

After this, I washed my hair and had a good scalp massage, and when I returned to my seat, I had an awesome back and shoulder massage using bergamot essential oil. Trust me, – the therapist’s hands are better than the massage chair anyday. hohoho.

 

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (13)I’ve always looked better as a redhead. hurhurhur. Nah, this is just the Infra Red Light session

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (14)To the blow-dry/styling session

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (15)And voila, the results! Here you can see that the oil clumps and random flakes have been removed, and the scalp looks distinctly cleaner. The pores are cleansed and opened up to promote hair growth as well.

 

 

PHS Hair Science DSR (16)L: The curls immediately after the session at about 4.30pm, and R: on the same day at close to midnight

 

HOW ARE THE RESULTS?

I emerged from the hair spa therapy feeling very relaxed in terms of both my mind and body.  I must give props to them – they are really dedicated to every step of the treatment, being attentive to all my needs and asking if the pressure of the various massages was okay, whether I needed more drinks and even providing bedroom slippers for me to relax my tired feet. I was even allowed me to finish watching my C-grade movie before venturing out to the lit area for styling. What’s more, the hairstyling and blow-drying was also done to perfection.

Oh, did I also mention that my therapist urged me to put down my phone and stop taking photos / checking my mails as this was meant for me to relax instead of to work? She’s so naiseeeee.

It’s been about a week since I underwent the treatment, and my scalp seems less oily, and the hair is quite glossy and healthy. Since this is the Detox stage, I wouldn’t expect to see any hair regrowth so I’m fine with that.

 

HOW MUCHO THE MONEY?

Now the treatment that I underwent costs $348 but there’s also another version that has almost everything except the 20-minute shoulder/back massage and the massage chairs/entertainment system for $268.

AND I just checked out their website – you can undergo the same treatment – Detox Restorative Spa Therapy (about 2.5 hours) for just $88 cos they’re having a special now! Click here to make your appointment go go go.

 

WHERE ARE THEY LOCATED?

PHS Hair Science is located at:

  • Ngee Ann City, #05-25A/B, 391 Orchard Road, Singapore 238872
  • Plaza Singapura, #04-34/35, 68 Orchard Road, Singapore 238839
  • Wheelock Place, #04-12, 501 Orchard Road, Singapore 238880

For more information or reservations, call 6692 0662 OR visit their website or their Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

