Review: Hanyul Optimizing Serum

Professor Do came from the Stars, while I must come from the Land of Ultimate Suckers. I mean, all it takes is Jeon Jihyun looking half-dead from appendicitis pain while slathering on some skincare and I’m hurling my moneh at Hanyul already.

If you’re from the Land of Don’t Watch Korean Dramas, You Who Came From The Stars is the latest and hugest hit from Korea. It stars Kim Soo Hyun (squeal!) and Jeon Ji Hyun (swoons) and it’s pretty damn awesome. What’s more awesome is Jeon Ji Hyun’s star appeal – essentially, everything she’s been seen using has flown off the shelf in Korea. Even the YSL lipstick that dropped out of her bag (and it was never even filmed) has sold out in Asia. Insane in the membraneeeee.

Because Jeon Jihyun is the face of Hanyul, and because I love her, I therefore now transfer my love onto Hanyul. hohoho.

Hanyul Optimizing SerumHanyul Optimizing Serum – KRW65,000

Hanyul Optimizing Serum (1)

 

Hanyul Optimizing Serum info

Hanyul Optimizing Serum jeon jihyun

Hanyul optimixing serum jeon ji hyun 2

Hanyul Optimizing Serum (4)

Hanyul Optimizing Serum (5)

Hanyul Optimizing Serum (2)

Hanyul Optimizing Serum (3)

 

I say…

I’d actually wanted to save the blog post for when I go to Korea this week (yes  yes, again, I know), but I decided that I just had to share the love with everybardy.

  •  It comes in a rather fat rounded-edged bottle with a pump dispenser.
  • One pump is enough for half my face (fine, so I sometimes indulge myself by overly slathering).
  • The  Optimizing Serum is essentially a skin booster, similar to Sulwhasoo’s First Care Serum. You apply it to freshly-cleansed face before your toner.
  • It’s a light brown liquid (more liquid than gel).
  • This is slightly more watery than Sulwhasoo’s First Care Serum and Hera’s Preperfection Serum, but also has a very herbal scent. In fact, it smells more herbal than the First Care Serum – I think I detect some red ginseng.
  • It’s really, really quickly absorbed and leaves no residue.
  • It leaves my skin feeling instantly hydrated but without the heavy clogged-up fewling.
  • I’ve been using it for about 2-3 weeks and I really, really love it.
  • I’ve had no breakouts (possibly due to its anti-inflammatory qualities), unlike the Innisfree Green Tea Seed Serum which I can’t use 😦 . Plus, it really calms my skin down.
  • My skin is looking clearer and more radiant. Oh and it’s also smoooother. Touch it good baybehhh.
  • Because it disappears so quickly into my skin (as quickly as potato chips into my bro’s tummy), it’s perfecto for application during the day before you pile on the makeup, as it’ll stop makeup from doing the slip and slide.

 

I’ve already got this down in my shopping list for this weekend, and I’m looking to cart back at least 2 bottles of this baby, if not more. I’m also looking to bring home its papa, mama, cousin, fifth uncle – time to start browsing their website. In fact, this Optimizing Serum might even have usurped Sulwhasoo’s Throne in my heart since it’s so awesome. Buy yours naooooo and you can be Jeon Jihyun too!

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Review: Hanyul Optimizing Serum

  1. I have been following your blog since last month and I’m a fan! Is Hanyul very rich in content? ( I mean with the korean medicine ingredients) My mum had skin outbreak which she never recovered from her younger days using products with ginseng in it, and I inherited her skin (mostly, hers was alot better before the outbreak), so far I have been avoiding skincare products with herbs in it! The posts about sulwhasoo and now hanyul is tempting me to try though? I’m hoping some advice will help me on decision making! hehe.. thanks!!

    • Hey hey! Sorry for the late reply – I’ve actually been digging around for the packaging to check the ingredients but I think I’ve hurled it into the bin in my fit of housekeeping frenzy last weekend. I’m no scientist but it doesn’t feel very rich (as in like a night cream type of heavy). It’s super lightweight and is supposed to be calming to the skin. I’ll be buying some more so I’ll see if they can spare sachets? If they have, I’ll score some and send them to you? 🙂

      • Wow thanks so much!!! Hopefully they give u more samples! if its really good I might go and get full bottle when I am in korea this September!

    • Hey hey pls email me beautifulbuns(dot)sg(at)gmail(dot)com –> I managed to get two sachets from the sales person so I can mail them to you to try? Lemme know your mailing address? Thanks! :)D

  2. Oh I think at Aritaum the upbeat salesman tried to push this on me (at least exact same *looking* bottle), but I was hesitant since I don’t know the brand or hadn’t seen the drama or reviews. No I’m in regret ! Need thiiiiis.

    PS your blog is hilarious, I die in laugher every time I read it.

  3. Please Review more hanyul products. Because of the drama, fall in love with do manager & cheon song yi! I want my face to be as flawless as hers. When i go korea, i so going to stock all hanyul products. Hahaha.

    I’m looking for anti-blemish serum. Do you know Any good anti- blemish serum?

  4. Pingback: Review: Hanyul Essential Skin Softner / Softener | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  5. What do u like most between sulwhasoo first care essence and this hanyul serum? I ever used sulwhasoo, but I never try hanyul. So I can’t decided both of them.

    • Hi Wanwan, do you mean to ask which one I prefer? currently I’m leaning a bit more towards the Hanyul one, simply cos it’s absorbed much faster, is more lightweight, has a stronger herbal scent and still gives me good skin 😀

  6. Pingback: Review: Hanyul Seo Ri Tae Anti Aging Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  7. I love this optimizing serum! Quick absorb & light weight. I saw the website, is the serum repackaging? I saw 1 brown bottle seems like they change the design of the bottle.

  8. Pingback: Review: Nature Republic The First Essence | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  9. Pingback: Review: Hanyul White Chrysanthemum Powder Serum | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  10. Pingback: Review: CNP Laboratory Propolis Deep Moisture Pack | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  11. Pingback: Review: Nature Republic The First Ampoule Essence | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  12. Hey! if you apply this before toner, do you still use a cotton pad soaked with toner to wipe your face? won’t it wipe the serum off? confused! 😦

    • I don’t really use toners these days.. I use those treatment essences, and I also don’t use cotton pads, so I just pat everything onto the face using my hands/fingers/palms 🙂

Leave a Reply

