Imitation is the best form of Flattery?

Today, I received an email from a really eagle-eyed reader who said that he’d spotted someone lifting almost my entire Laura Mercier Loose Powder review (sans my verbal diarrhea at the front) and reposting it onto Instagram without crediting me.

Y U No

I’m not one for internet cyber wars, but neither am I gonna let someone take credit for my work, especially my editorial work. So here are the screen shots. Enjoy 😀

plagiarise-9The red box is a picture of the Laura Mercier Loose Powder. Click and it, and it leads to….

plagiarise1… oh hello. Those words seem really familiar.

So I read through it carefully, and realise, hey, that’s my review of the Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder dated almost one year ago.

plagiarise1

On the left is her (Feb 2014)  and on the right is mine (Feb 2013)

Woah, it’s like having a Siamese twin on the other side of the globe – she can read my thoughts. Why, she even took the words straight outta my mouth hohoho.

So what did I do? Nah I didn’t go in guns ablazin’ – going in angrily never did anyone any good anyway.  I left her a decent, normal message, subtly crediting myself.

plagiarist combined1

Of course, I take the gracious way out 😀 I’m Beautiful Buns, not Bash-My-Way-Into-Her Buns ya’know?

To be really honest, I’m not mad or angry nor pissed off. Yeah sure it’s somewhat flattering that people find my review decent enough to plagiarize, but hey, a little credit to the original author wouldn’t hurt. If she could take the effort to delete out the words “vs the Laneige Brightening Sun Powder which I’ve been using to powder-blot my nose in the office.”, I’m pretty sure she can type in “review taken from beautifulbuns.wordpress.com”.

Anyhoos, I’m not sure whether she will take down the post or credit me, but at least I’ve taken some action to protect the integrity of my work 😀 Here’s my original review if you wish to read it.

Update, 5 Febuary 2014, 6.15pm

Wow, she sure is shameless. She deleted my comment (along with some of my friends’ comments) and made some weird defensive comments.

plagiarist combined2Plus, the fact that she said “copy and paste” is legally an admission of plagiarism lolol. Self pwned big time.

Update, 5 February 2014, 8pm.

I’ve been blocked / She’s set her posts to private. Tsk tsk. And no sign of an apology either. Ah well, at least I’ve made my moves.

plagiarist blocked

3 thoughts on “Imitation is the best form of Flattery?

  1. Wow, I can’t believe people can be so shameless. I’m glad you handled it correctly instead of going down to her lowly level. Great job ^.^

Leave a Reply

