Review: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion

Cushions are so the “in” thing these days – I know that Etude House also has its Any Cushion, but I’ve heard insider information that it isn’t doing that well – there’s no refill and the coverage isn’t that awesome… Being the crazy beauty junkie I am, of course I own one, but I haven’t gotten around to opening it and try it yet heh.

Why? Cos I have something more awesome to review, and that’s from my beloved Sulwhasoo brand hurhurhur.

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting CushionSulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion – KRW60,000

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion infoComes in 3 shades – check out the Sulwhasoo website

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (1)

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (2)

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (3)In shade 01 Medium Pink – it looks slightlyyyy yellowish at first glance

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (4)From an angle – there’s a nice glow

Sulwhasoo vs IOPE 1

Sulwhasoo vs IOPE 2

Sulwhasoo vs IOPE 3The IOPE Air Cushion XP is slightly brighter, but has less coverage vs the Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion, which may look slightlyyyy yellowish in comparison but isn’t really yellow. My skin’s just really fair.

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (5)Not so yellowish after all!

Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion (6)And me with my painted face – notch bad indeed.

I say…

To be honest, Sulwhasoo isn’t that well known for its makeup, but more for its skincare. But of course, that’s not gonna prevent me from investing in yet another BB cream / cushion / foundation / sulwhasoo product. heh.

  • It comes in a nice classy gold glided edged case. Compared with Laneige’s BB Cushion, IOPE Air Cushion XP and  Hera’s UV Mist, this is the smoothest and most curved of all, kinda like a really smooth pebble. However, all the refills are the same size and can fit into each other’s casings.
  • The puff is soft and aerated so that it can pick up the product and yet not retain too much of it (i.e. suck and soak it all up).
  • There is a pleasant fragrant and yet vaguely herbal scent to the product – nothing too overwhelming nor artificial.
  • The product (from what I hear from a Korean makeup artist friend) is not a BB product – instead, it’s a foundation (or some essence variation).
  • I guess that explains why the coverage is awesome – I was pretty impressed. Check out my dark eye circles – they’re not as black and dark as they usually are, and I only cover them with this product.
  • Although the Medium Pink shade came out slightly yellowish when swatched against my hand, it was actually pretty suitable to my skin. My skin came out brighter and there was a nice glowy finish.
  • When freshly applied, it felt cooling against my skin, and also felt really lightweight.
  • What’s more, the coverage lasted almost the entire day – about 5-6 hours before the usual caking and flaking occurred.
  • Touching up didn’t result in too much baking either (i.e. it didn’t look over-layered and still had a natural look).
  • This is actually one of the longer lasting cushion-type products I have – just about 10% better than IOPE’s Air Cushion XP. No wonder it won Allure Korea’s Editor’s Pick 2013 award – we haz similar tastes!

Overall, I’m pretty impressed with this – KRW60,000 for the case + 2 refills is also pretty damn affordable, especially when Hera’s UV Mist Cushion is about KRW50,000+ and IOPE’s Air Cushion is KRW38,000. Definitely worth a try, and hey, if you’re not headed to Korea soon, a lil birdy tells me that this might be available in Singapore pretty soon 😀

Update as of 27 May 2015: There’s now a new version of this called the Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Brightening – check out my review here 🙂

35 thoughts on “Review: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion

  1. I love your reviews! I’m currently using the Iope cushion XP in C21. But after reading your review, I’m so tempted to try this now haha. Does this look more yellow/sallow compared to the Iope? (haha cos i prefer to look less yellow)

    • Hi Charmaine
      Yay, thanks for reading my reviews 😀 I wouldn’t say this is sallow / yellowish, but instead, I’d call IOPE brighter, more dewy and more glowy. This Sulwhasoo Cushion still gives a nice natural finish with a tad bit more coverage than the IOPE Air Cushion XP. I also tend to avoid yellow-tinged products 😀

  2. I’ve been reading your blog since I was doing preparation for my visit to Korea just last month! I bought Iope cushion as you had reviewed Iope is more natural to compare to the other brands air cushion. Is Sulwahsoo as natural as well?

    • Hi Jenny,
      Yup the Sulwhasoo Cushion gives a nice natural finish as well. If I had to compare it to IOPE, I would say Sulwhasoo cushion has slightly more coverage and slightly less dewy finish/glow.

  3. you have got me on this BB cushion craze now. i now own Laneige, IOPE and Hera and now this is calling for me!

    the swatch looks somewhat darker than the usual C21 of IOPE or Hera? i am using IOPE C23 (Laneige 21 was a v gd match for me) , you reckon should i take this in 01 or 02 ? i am a MAC NC 20ish.

    i am somewhat in between the 21 and 23 range of korean brands coz like Innisfree airfit or Hera CC cream, the 23 was too dark, yet Hera and IOPE C21 is tad too light …..

    thanks for your help. love your reviews!! keep them going!

  4. Pingback: IOPE Air Cushion XP | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  5. I have the Etude House any cushion and I’d say it’s pretty good actually, the coverage is supposedly good for a cushion foundation and yes they do have refills….I was actually going to ask if you could compare Etude’s with the other cushion foundations/bb’s since you have a pretty large collection 😄

    • Oh yes I do know they have refills – what I meant to say was that the original packaging it comes in doesn’t come with refills (unlike Hera, IOPE, Sulwhasoo which all come with a case + 2 refills). I have the Etude House Any Cushion but I haven’t gotten around to opening it yet heh 😀

  6. Hi

    Thank god I found your blog! Amazing reviews -thank you!!

    I just came across this cushion foundation but I am torn between which shade to puchase, I wear iope c21 with no problem so would you recommend me getting no1 or no2? I would prefer getting the lightest shade.

    thank you!
    Lia

    • Hi Lia, I’m a C21 for IOPE as well, so I’d recommend No. 13 Light Pink for this Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion. When I first bought this last year in Korea, they didn’t have the 13 Light Pink shade, so I had to settle for No. 1 Medium Pink,but it’s a little dark for me. 🙂

      • Thanks for replying so quickly!

        I can’t seem to find the shade no 13 light pink i can only see three shades that are all medium??? Just wanted to see if this is something new and not out yet?

        Thanks again!

      • Hi Lia, Yup I think 13 Light pink is a new shade. Not sure if it’s only for the Singapore market, or also available elsewhere. In any case it’ll be available at Sulwhasoo counters in Singapore starting Feb 7, so you can head down to swatch and try it? 🙂

  7. Pingback: Event: Launch of Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  8. Hi ! I’ve discovered your blog and it is very good ! Your articles help a lot.
    Can you tell me if refills fit every case ? I have an etude house case and I want to buy the iope cushion in refill.

  9. Hi, Compare to Sulwhasoo vs iope vs hera, which is ur most favourite cushion? which is most suitable in sg weather ? which has the most coverage ?

  10. Hi! u mentioned in your laniege bb cushion review that it melts after a couple of hours. Its exactly the same for me. how does the Sulwhasoo cushion compare with regards to this? does it melt and leave streaks as well? Thanks!

  11. your product reviews are really helpful. I have really difficult time to catch up the colors in Korean brands even though Im asian with fair skin ( a bit of pink and yellow undertone since my face turns red easily when Im Shy :3). my Hera uv mist cushion in shade c21 still looks white to me or perhaps I have been living in the States for too long to be familiar with Western skin type!!! would you recommend the color in Sulwhasoo for my skin type fairly with pinky tone?

  12. Hi there!

    I currently use Sulwhasoo’s evenfair smoothing foundation in medium beige and, for added insight, IOPE air cushion XP in N23 ice beige. I’m now considering purchasing the Sulwhasoo perfecting cushion on ebay (sadly it’s not yet available here in Canada) and so I’m wondering whether you think medium beige might be the right shade to go with for the Sulwhasoo cushion? Any insight would be greatly appreciated! The sad thing about not having this product here is not being able to swatch it!

    Thanks very much in advance!

  13. Pingback: Review: The Body Shop InstaBlur All-In-One 5-Action Perfector | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  14. Pingback: Sulwhas-who? Review of IOPE Air Cushion XP in C23 Cover Beige | BeautyandtheCat's Beauty Blog

  15. Pingback: Review: O Hui Moist CC Cushion | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  16. Pingback: Round-Up: 7 Korean Beauty Trends in 2014 | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  17. Pingback: Review: Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion Brightening | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  18. Hi, does this product have a good oil-control as I have a combo/oily skin? and if I am using laneign shade 21, which shade of this product do you think that suits me best?

    • The oil control factor for this isn’t as strong as Laneige’s Pore Control BB Cushion or the Missha M Cushion. It’s best you swatch the shades yourself (buy some samples online) cos Im not sure of your skin’s undertone (whether it’s warm or cool), so I don’t want to make the wrong recommendation for you and waste your money… Have a nice day ahead! 🙂

  19. Pingback: Review: Sulwhasoo Perfecting Cushion Intense | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

