Review: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Washable Mascara

After reading today’s review, you will totally realise why I seldom review mascaras (or rather, after seeing today’s photos). I’ve got terrible, terrible panda eyes (and is that a hint of millia seed I see?!)

But then, for the greater love of every beauty junkie who comes here, I have sacrificed my public reputation and put my undereyes on display. Prepare yourselves!

Maybelline Rocket MascaraMaybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Washable Mascara

Maybelline Rocket Mascara (1)The special ultra-sonic brush that’s meant for more precise application

Maybelline Rocket Mascara (2)And yes, that’s me with zero makeup on except for mascara. zilch. And nope, I didn’t even bother curling my lashes.

Maybelline Rocket Mascara (3)Thicker and longer lashes with 2 coats of mascara.

Maybelline Rocket Mascara (4)Comparing 1 coat vs 2 coats of mascara – quite a decent uplifting effect considering I didn’t even curl my usual poker-straight stubborn lashes

I say…

This is actually pretty decent.  In the photos above, I did not use any eyelash curler, and I also didn’t use an eyelash comb.

  • The bristles are different from the usual brush applicators – they can get rather prickly if they come into contact with your eyelids or the base of the lashes, so be careful.
  • One coat gives a pretty decent extension effect and there’s not a lot of clumping.  It also uplifts the lashes (and mine are usually as straight as Line’s Brown bear’s expression).
  • Two coats gives it a more dramatic effect – more volume and more intense colour. It also begins to clump very slightly, but nothing to the point that irritates me. Thankfully, the lashes remain up.
  • Smudging is quite minimal (not zero), and the mascara is easily washed off with water, coming of relatively cleanly in clumps of fibre (vs a complete smudge and washed-out effect).

Overall, not too bad a mascara indeed – it extends and lifts, but I do wish it had a slight bit more curling effect. But well, it’s aptly named The Rocket – besides China and North Korea, I doubt any other country’s rockets have taken off in a curved projectory hurhurhur.

Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Washable Mascara retails at SGD$18.90

4 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Washable Mascara

  1. Hi Dalha, I have problems using mascara as most of the time I will end up looking like a panda with the mascara smudging to my eyes as if I been bashed. Hur hur. What mascara would you recommend that gives a good curling effect and yet doesn’t smudge so I don’t end up looking like the adorable panda? 🙂

    • Hi Qing, one of my favourite mascaras is Heroine Make Long & Curl mascara. It lengthens, voluminises, curls (even without a curler!) and doesn’t budge at all. I’ve been wanting to do a review on it but I keep forgetting. :/

      • Nice! I’m keen to try it out esp when u said it curls even without the curler. 🙂 (I’m lazy hehe) my lashes are somewhat like yours that stick out very straight, maybe I have stubborn lashes. It takes a longer time to curl using the curler. Thanks for your suggestion, you are the pro! (sorry for misspelling your name in previous post) thank you!! Hope to see your review soon too! Yay!

  2. They are awesome, right?
    I bought it here in Brazil and I found it amazing, because the price was good and the results were so worth it!
    I found this blog recently (like, today haha), but I’m already in love with it!
    Your reviews are good to read, not over-exaggerated and you show your photos with the products in and outside.
    I look forward to more reviews!

Leave a Reply

