Review: Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher

Although I’ve recently started experimenting with SK-II products, I still retain my never-dying love for Sulwhasoo. Here’s one of their newer products which I fell in love with at first sight (on their website). When I reached the counter in Lotte and tested it out slightly , I was totally sold. Yes yes, sucker much, I know.

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential FinisherSulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher – KRW90,000

Can you still blame me for wanting to buy this (even though the first time I saw it, I didn’t know what the hell it was used for. heh). It’s really so pretty!

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher (1)The side of the box is pretty toooooo. I see rainbowwww.

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher (2)Instructions on usage differ from what the counter staff told me – basically, she (and now I) use it as a primer / base.

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher infoRead more about the product from their official website here.

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher (4)A relatively creamy pearl-sheened drop…

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher (5)…spread it out and watch it get absorbed quickly into the skin…

Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher (6)… leaving a nice subtle glow.

I say…

First and foremost, I have to stress that there’s not much visible effects -i.e. you won’t suddenly morph into Suzy after applying this. It’s actually more of a consumer experience – continue reading to find out what sort of Sulwhasoo-crazed mumbo jumbo I’m spewing.

  • The bottle is ridiculously pretty – a pearl sheen with smooth finish and a textured cap. The bottle is also pretty heavy (which I suppose is because of the density of the cream inside), so be careful not to drop it.
  • The pump delivery system dispenses just enough for the entire face with just one pump., so yay for no product wastage, or having to estimate what’s a 75% pump.
  • I apply it as the last step of my skincare in the morning (ie IOPE Bio Essence Intensive Conditioning, Belif Numero 10 and then this – I don’t like to leave my house with too many things on my face)
  • Once applied, it’s spread easily even though it’s more creamy than watery.
  • It smells nice – a good balance of herbal and fragrance.
  • It’s also absorbed pretty fast. It kinda feels like a daytime leave-on sleeping mask –  In fact, it kinda feels like there’s a loving film of skincare wrapped around my skin. It’s not sticky or greasy though’ in fact, my skin actually feels firmer.
  • My skin also looked slightly more radiant, but it’s just a 10% increase in radiance (kinda like how your face looks after applying a sheet mask). It doesn’t up your skintone significantly like the Hera Age Away Primer Base either.
  • It leaves a nice subtle dewy glow, but it’s not the obvious types  for example the Burberry Fresh Glow).
  • Now comes the awesome part: It actually helps my makeup stay on longer the entire day! -mindblown-
  • It also extended the lifespan of my makeup – instead of it oxidising / melting off after 4-5 hours, my makeup now lasts till at least 7-8 hours, and this includes the time I’m trudging out under the hot sun to get my lunch.
  • Somehow, it felt as though the Luminature Essential Finisher was acting like a makeup magnet, keeping it close to my skin at all times.
  • I did try going off this product (zomg now I sound like an addict), but my skin suffered cold turkey and went into withdrawal – there goes my makeup like -that-.
  • Because it’s a skincare product, my skin also feels less dry and tight during the hours that I’m sitting in the super-cold, super-dry airconditioned office.

Now you see what I mean by an experience? There’s nothing else I can say except – tis time to go out and get yourself a jolly damn good experience nao nao nao!

19 thoughts on “Review: Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher

  1. Holy Smokes! I can definitely relate with the experience. The boyf bought the sulwhasoo basic line and among the samples are this product. Tried it on today and can’t believe how lovely the makeup sits on my skin. It somehow enhanced the base makeup I used and it’s still on my skin. Thanks for the review, so glad I found a similar experience ^^

    I have a question though:is it a primer? Or a skincare product?

  2. Pingback: Clarins UV Plus Perfecting Cream High Protection BB Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  3. Pingback: Belif Peat Miracle Revital Serum Concentrate | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  4. Pingback: Event: Launch of Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  5. Pingback: Boots No. 7 Beautiful Skin Day Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  6. Hi there!
    Super love your blog! I’m not exagerrating when i say you basically convinced me to splurge on Sulwhasoo products! (:
    I do have a newbie question, though: I have the Snowise Brightening Serum BB and Evenfair Smoothing Foundation. If I were to buy this Essential Finisher, do I need to forego using the BB? Or should this go before the BB?
    Thanks so much!!

    • Hey Charlene, thanks for popping by! 😀 And welcome to the deep dark hole of Spending-All-Your-Money-On-Korean-Stuff hehehe.

      This Finisher has no coverage, so it serves a different purpose from the Foundation and Serum BB. This is essentially a primer / makeup base with almost magnet-like abilities to hold on to your makeup. There is a very subtle tinge of glow, but its strength lies in being a base/finisher.

      I usually apply this before any of my BBs/foundations, and I find that it helps to hold my makeup for a longer period of time 🙂

      Hope this helps and TGIF! 😀

      • Thanks so much for your advice! Will definitely pick this one up then since I don’t have a primer just yet. When you apply your BB/foundation, do you use your fingers or are you a pro and use a brush for them? (:

        Also, slightly unrelated, I’m based in Canada and they don’t have the Evenfair perfecting cushion yet! So sad, I can’t wait to try it out! (:

        TGIF as well!

  7. Pingback: Review: Hanyul Skin Essential Emulsion | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  8. Hi, can I check if the finisher is suitable for combination/acne prone/sensitive skin? Which line of sulwhasoo pdts is suitable for sensitive skin? Thanks

    • Hi Ann, I have combi skin and it works for me. My jawline is also sensitive and prone to adult acne but I haven’t had any outbreaks yet.

      My friend has sensitive skin and the first care serum works well for her. Sulwhasoo doesn’t have a line catered for sensitive skin, but perhaps you can start with the basic line (in the orangey-brown packaging) . The ones in the blue packaging are the Hydro Aid Moisturizing Lifting range and are for dry skin, while the ones in white packaging are the Snowise products for Whitening. There’s one also in dark brown, and that’s the premium line for anti-ageing. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Review: Nature Republic The First Essence | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  10. Pingback: Review: Espoir Nude Liquid Powder | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  11. Pingback: Event/Newsflash: Learn how to use the Sulwhasoo Luminature Essential Finisher! | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  12. Pingback: Review: MAC Pro Longwear Nourishing Foundation + Swatches! | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  13. Pingback: Review: MAC Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof Foundation + Swatches! | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  14. Pingback: Review: Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

