Review: Cle de Peau Beaute Extra Silky Lipstick

My lips have recently gone into “snake-mode” – no matter how much water I drink and how frequently I re-apply my lip balm, it just remains perpetually dry and flakes as though I’m having my very own gross rendition of a White Christmas.

Although it would be the sensible thing to avoid lipsticks at this moment, the horrors of having to battle the year-end shopping crowds and hordes of students on holiday have taken a toll on me – my face has turned vaguely sallow like eggnog.

To bring myself back up to my usual awesomeness, I’ve decided to bring out the good stuff (I sound like a weed dealer).

cledepeauextrasilky

CDP extra silky lipstick

CDP extra silky lipstick (1)

CDP extra silky lipstick (4)Cle de Peau Beaute Extra Silky Lipstick 131

CDP extra silky lipstick (5)L: Pale, dry and peeling lips, R: with the Cle de Peau Beaute Extra Silky Lipstick applied

CDP extra silky lipstick (6)

I say…

Now, as much as I’m like this product, calling it a lipstick is a stretch. It’s more of a good gloss with moisturising properties.

  • It moisturises my lips very well – check out how it managed to convert my dry peeling onion lips into a juicy tomato.
  • It isn’t sticky.
  • It has a good level of gloss and shine.
  • There’s not much colour, but more of a pinkish sheen.
  • It comes in a slim pen-like casing with a click-twist dispenser which requires about a too-many 6 clicks to release an extra 2mm. What’s up with that yo?
  • There are very subtle iridescent glimmers in it (but can’t be seen from photos).
  • Sadly, it doesn’t last very long – about 30 mins to an hour at max.

Its retail price is US$52, but unless you’re pulling in the moolah by the truckloads, it really isn’t worth the money. There are plenty of better lipsticks and lip glosses out there ie Bare Escentuals Buxom Lips or Dior Addict Extreme.

Leave a Reply

