Review: Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish

I love glowy skin – matte’s so last season. However, highlighters can only be used selectively on certain parts of the face, or else I’ll  look like I was  going to audition for the role of Me-stink, Mystique’s sister who was abandoned out of embarrassment to the family.

I chanced upon this product two weeks ago when I was in Korea – I wasn’t quite sure what it was. In fact, the price was what caught my eye. 12 bucks for a tub of cream? My inner cheapskate reared its head and reached my grubby paws towards this.

Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish for Combination/Oily Skin – KRW10,900 (SGD12.40 approx)

A pretty butterfly on the top of the box – cos I’m supaflyyyyyy.

A seemingly-blah tub of cream

Two versions for two types of skin

The supposed before and after effects – I’m already fair so it doesn’t make as much a difference in my own before and after pics. I’ll try to post them soon. If you’re slightly more tanned, check out this blogger’s before and after pics.

Swatching it on my hand – jarringly white, I have to admit…

…but it surprisingly blends out nicely. This photo is taken under sunlight.  The left half of my hand has nothing on.

This one’s taken under room fluorescent lighting – the cream gives a rosy glow.

Another one taken under sunlight

I say…

So what exactly is this?

Turns out that this cream is an all-in-one: base, highlighter, skin colour corrector, moisturiser, sun block, and some oil control. Once again, I’ll like to re-iterate – for 12 bucks. ZOMG.

  • It may come across as being extremely white at first, but it blends in well.
  • It’s supposedly suitable for usage on its own, but my eyebags are too severe to be covered, so I prefer to use it as a base.
  • It’s lightweight.
  • It helps to lock in your skin’s moisture.
  • It provides a good base for my foundation or BB.
  • It doesn’t cake.
  • It creates that glowy (but not overly oily or shiny) finish.
  • It has a semi-matte finish to it – random strands of hair don’t stick as easily onto my face.

I would totally use this as a liquid highlighter too. It’s comparable with the It’s Skin Babyface Shimmer Stick and Laneige Shimmering Multi-Cream.

I’d recommend it solely for its price point – it’s cheap and good, and serves so many purposes. In times of need, these will come in so so useful for both your wallet and your face.

10 thoughts on “Review: Holika Holika Miracle Real Skin Finish

    • Hi qq,
      Sorry I left out the SPF level – it’s SPF25.
      For oily skin, yes I’d recommend it cos it helps to mattify and yet can maintain a natural rosy glow. For acne-prone skin, I’d just recommend to use as little products as possible so as to let the skin breathe and recover. 🙂

  1. If you could recommend one base kind of product like this, for oily skin and im pretty fair, what would it be? I want something that I can wear alone without anything else, but sometimes under BB cream. ThankS~

    • Hi QQ, I’d go for the Hera Age Away primer. It has relatively strong oil control power and a decent amount of coverage for a base. It helps even out skin tone and works as sort of a concealer too 🙂

  2. Is this good for a teen who doesn’t want to wear makeup but does slightly cover redness ?. Also how long is the oil control last ? I’m am planning to buy this or the etude house shini star bb lotion . Which one do you think is best for a teen .

    • hi hi, sorry for the late reply. This doesn’t really cover – it’s more of a skin brightener to give a brighter dewy and glowy finish. the oil control lasts about 4 hours on me. I feel that if you’re looking for coverage, the etude house bb is much better cos it has sun coverage as well as skin tone coverage. This one is more of a primer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

