Review: Tony Moly Intense Repair Live Snail Foam Cleanser

To the horror of The Grooming Editor, I came back from one of my Korea trips with this. Yes, there really is snail mucus in this. And no, I’m surprisingly not grossed out by it. Perhaps it’s the lack of stench (it smells more like mama lemon than anything), or perhaps it’s the fact that it’s a Korean brand – I’m just that biased towards Korean stuff. I’m willing to take a leap of faith in buying Korean products with “gross” origins.

This product is said to contain le essence of snails that have been raised in the clean area of Geumsan in Chungcheongnam-do. Now, if it keeps those slugs moisturised, it’s bound to work on my skin right?

Tony Moly Intense Repair Live Snail Foam Cleanser

I’ve been using this for a couple of months, and it was down to its last leg, so I decided to bring it to Bangkok to finish up and do up a proper review.

 Every last inch squeezed out of this tube

Application and Effects

Now even though it is a Korean product, I must say this isn’t the best cleanser, and not because of its snail essence. (see, I’m not that biased after all!) It doesn’t foam up as much as I’d like it to be, and sometimes, if I’m tired at night and don’t massage my skin as thoroughly as usual, I’ll find remnants of makeup when using my Laneige Perfect Renew Skin Refiner. I’ve never had this problem with my other cleansers.

Silky texture of the cleanser – much like a snail’s secretion, no?

Also, it takes quite a bit of water to work up a proper foam, which results in a rather watery texture rather than a foam cleanser. However, it is smooth and non-abrasive, much like your usual cleanser.

Efficacy-wise, I didn’t see any improvement nor detoriation in my skin quality. It wasn’t any more moisturised, nor did it get drier. I also didn’t get fairer nor did my pores change in size.

One thing good was that it didn’t leave my skin squeaky clean – that is usually a sign that your skin has been stripped of its natural moisture and your cleanser / toner has too much astringent.

I wouldn’t buy it again. Instead, I’d rather move on to trying other cleansers. (Will do up one on my favourite Tony Moly Tomatox cleanser soon!).

Leave a Reply

