Review: Hera Amethyst Highlighter

I admit that I’m the biggest sucker when it comes to skincare and makeup. All you have to do is to plonk an artiste that I love onto an ad, and I’ll buy that damn item.

Back in 2009, Kim Hyun Joong 김현중 was the spokesperson for Tony Moly, so guess who spent more than SGD500 in one shopping trip at Tony Moly? Next, Kim Hyun Joong moved on to The Face Shop, so now I’m supporting The Face Shop’s gross margins.

I also love the Brown Eyed Girls’s Ga In, so I’m still supporting Tony Moly (of sorts). Another female Korean artiste I love is Shin Min Ah 신민아 .  Ever since I watched “My Girlfriend is a Nine-tailed Fox (Gumiho)” 내 여자친구는 구미호, I’ve been crazy about her.

Just look at how amazingly gorgeous she is without makeup, and without plastic surgery too!

Last month, when I was at Lotte Department store spending shitloads of money on Sulwhasoo, I saw Shin Min Ah smiling at me every so alluringly from the giant ad at the Hera counter.

Of course, I got suckered into buying something from there. I didn’t know exactly what I wanted – I just wanted to buy something from Hera cos Shin Min Ah is so damn pretty. Thankfully, I had the presence of mind not to buy skin care cos I’d just spent more than a thousand on Sulwhasoo items.

I wandered over to the counter, and the really nice sales assistant recommended me this item (which coincided with my current obssession).

헤라 Hera Amethyst Highlighter by Damien Dufresne – KRW45,000

Application and Effects

This is the mothership of all my highlighters. Sorry Laneige Love in Bloom Sculpting Blusher, you’ve lost to the higher-tier item. But then again, it’s all in the family of Amore Pacific. In ascending order, it’s Etude House, Laneige, IOPE, Hera, and then Sulwhasoo tops it all. Of course, there are more brands in their family, but I’m just listing the few main brands I use.

The Hera Amethyst Highlighter comes with its own brush and brush pouch

 A flip-open transparent plastic casing to protect the powder

A close-up of the Hera Amethyst Highlighter – note the fine grains of powder around the edges

Subtle highlighting across the back of my hand

Don’t you just love how it looks?! It’s subtle, and yet one application is all it needs to create the illusion of a nose bridge, high cheekbones and a rounded forehead.

Once again, I apologise for the cropped photo. But then again, I’m not one of those camwhoring bloggers who post 5 million photos of themselves – this is purely for review purposes, so you don’t really have to see my face, right? 😀

The powder is so fine, and yet doesn’t cake with multiple applications. I’m not advocating multiple applications too though, cos you don’t wanna look like you’ve had some aluminium foil welded onto your nose – it’ll be too shiny!

It also works well on the C-zone and under the eyes as a brightener, and doesn’t sit into the pores to enhance them.

In fact, I’ve tried applying it with a large brush all over my face and it totally brightens up my overall complexion without me ending up looking like Edward.

Thus, I hereby declare this as a wonderful highlighter and that everyone should get it 😀

5 thoughts on “Review: Hera Amethyst Highlighter

  1. Pingback: Review: Hera HD Fix Powder | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  2. Pingback: Round-Up: 7 Korean Beauty Trends in 2014 | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

  3. Pingback: Round-Up: 7 Korean Beauty Trends in 2014 | GetKlarity - get your fix of beauty & wellness in real-time

  4. Pingback: Review: MAC Mineralize SkinFinish – Lightscapade | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

