Review: Tony Moly Whitening Capsule Essence

Before I get stuck with the “rich bitch” label, I decided to do one low-end Korean brand.

I discovered Tony Moly in Korea in 2009. When I found out how good it was, I went “Holy Moly!” (yes, I couldn’t resist alliterating). I’ve gone through tonnes of Tony Moly products and could spend up to $300 in one shopping trip – I literally took a basket, stuck my arm out and swept everything into my basket. 😀

I’ll start my “Holy Moly, it’s Tony Moly!” rave with one of the more fun products – Tony Moly Whitening Capsule Essence.

Tony Moly Whitening Capsule Essence – (not sure of the price cos I junked the box). As a rule of thumb, all Korean products sold in Singapore are usually twice their Korean prices. 

Don’t you just love the balls? I mean, honestly, who could say no to these balls?!

Application and Effects

Toner (I use the Laneige Perfect Renew Skin Refiner) – Tony Moly Whitening Essence (day) / Sulwhasoo First Care Serum (night)

I think this product is 55% novelty, 45% efficacy. I’m not saying it doesn’t work, but damn, it’s one helluva fun product to use. It absorbs relatively quickly, but has a slight tinge of stickiness. Just an eensy weeny tinge. Because it’s somewhat thick in consistency, say about 10% of any normal cream, I don’t put on any extra creams over it, cos I’m not one for thickly-coated faces.

You’ve also got to make sure to rub everything into your skin properly. If you don’t, it looks like you’ve got random bits of tissue stuck to your face, which is wayyyyy uncool. Needless to say, it happened to me. Gah.

Overall, this is one of those buy-and-try products. If you’re on a tight budget, this will do well for your daily essence.

Leave a Reply

