Review: Sulwhasoo Snowise Whitening Serum

You know how guys absolutely refuse to read instructions when setting up that new DVD player or assembling that new IKEA shelf? (Someone explain to me why?)

Anyway, the same goes for me when it comes to beauty products. What I love about  Korean products is its simplicity in usage.

For those of you who can’t understand the Korean instructions, simply go by consistency. The lighter the consistency, the earlier it goes onto your face. It’s a bit like how you eat your meals – start with the light appetisers and then finish up with the richest and creamiest cakes. (I so need to stop my bad habit of shoveling everything in)

Since my previous entry was about the Sulwhasoo First Care Serum, I decided it would only be logical to go in sequence.

By right, you should follow on with the Emulsion and then the Revitalizing Serum. But by left, since I ran out of money and my bro finished all my Revitalising Serum, I’ve had to open the gem of my collection.

This has got to be one of the most #%@?! expensive skincare purchases I’ve ever made.

Sulwhasoo Snowise Whitening Serum, 50ml – ₩200,000 (SGD224)

Close up of the Snowise Whitening Serum on a black background

Close up on a white background – it’s more yellowish-tinged rather than pure white. 

Against my skin – you can barely see it.

Application and Effects

Toner – First Care Serum – Snowise Whitening Serum 자정미백에센스 pronounced Ja Jeong Mee Baek E-sen-seu

The serum is just slightlyyyyyy (eensy weensy bitsy) sticky, but nothing to fuss about. It glides on well, takes a few pats to settle into your face and takes a couple of minutes before you can follow up with the Emulsion.

I’ve been using it for about 1-2 months and I daresay it was money well spent. On the bright side (literally), I’ve moved up the bb cream shade ladder. On the darker side, it’s really pricey to upkeep on my limited salary. Ah, the woes of being a middle-class Singaporean. Even beauty has to be rationed accordingly. I use this Snowise Serum maybe 2-3x a week. In the meantime, I upkeep my whitening regime with this other really awesome gel-mask from Missha (which I promise to blog about soon!)

10 thoughts on “Review: Sulwhasoo Snowise Whitening Serum

  1. I am a big fan of Sulwhasoo and I love reading your blog^_^ Why dont you try IOPE Birghtegen cream? I have been using it for couple days and I can see that my face is getting brighter..

      • hello, I’m heading to Seoul in a couple of weeks and intend to stock up big time on gel/sheet masks. You mentioned “an amazing Missha mask” in your review of Sulwhasoo’s Whitening Serum – which one is it? Any other recommendations? I’m looking at lifting, firming, whitening and hydrating masks (in order of priority). Thanks much!

      • hello! it’s the Missha Time Revolution White Cure Hydro-Gel Mask,

        to be really honest, the best lifting + firming results I’ve gotten are from the V-line Laser Lifting Treatment from CNP that I just did last month. My skin hasn’t been this good in years!

        Otherwise, for firming I like Sulwhasoo’s Overnight Revitalising + Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask.

        Sulwhasoo’s Clarifying mask is pretty good at removing dead surface cells.

        My Must-use hydrating mask is Laneige’s new Water Sleeping Mask (not the sleeping pack). It will be launched in SG in May, but I’m not sure whether it’ll be available in Korea when you’re there.

        Have fun!

  2. Hi, I am heading over to Korea this weekend. For a limited budget, what Sulwhasoo items/line should I try? I am quite fair already, so whitening isn’t my priority.

    • Hi Mandy, not sure what your definition of limited is, but a must-get is the Sulwhasoo First Care Serum, and it’s about SGD90-100.

      Get the Overnight Revitalising Treatment as well – i think it’s about SGD60 or so.

      I’d also recommend the White Ginseng Brightening Mask (which is actually a gentle exfoliating scrub) – also about SGD60 or so.

      The Innerise Serum is also really good too – I’m currently using this and it’s for overall firmness, but this is slightly pricey – about KRW150,000. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Whitening Serum | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  4. Pingback: Review: Sulwhasoo Snowise Whitening Mask | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  5. Pingback: Review: Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Whitening Eye Treatment | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

Leave a Reply

