Review: Maybelline Lashionista Mascara

I personally feel that mascaras are one of the riskier beauty products. You can’t try it in stores. It’s always gross, clumpy and baked into a lovely mascara cake with sprinklings of a million other people’s germs. Plus, advertisements are so misleading. They all lieeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Just check out this ad for the Maybelline Lashionista mascara.

Let’s see if I really do get obscenely long lashes using it.

The slightly curved mascara brush with plenty of fibres waiting to attach to your lashes.

Can you see my lashes?

I apologise in advance for the smudged undereyes. I had my mascara on the whole day to test it out, and my insanely thick eyeliner and eyeshadow was blocking the effect of the lashes, so I had to daintily remove my eye makeup with a Q-tip dipped in makeup remover. Clearly not the most efficient method.

Now can you see my lashes? It’s relatively curled and pointing upwards – I didn’t use any curler. And as you can see, my other side’s non-mascaraed eyelashes are poker-straight.

I say…
Although it doesn’t give me lashes seen in the advertisement, it does perform pretty damn well for a mascara. (and that’s coming from someone who much prefers eyelash extensions over mascaras)

  • I don’t have to curl my lashes with a curler and it goes up. AND stays up.
  • It doesn’t smudge.
  • It’s easy to remove without excessive rubbing.
  • It doesn’t clump even after 3 coats.
  • It lengthens my lashes.
  • It volumises slightly.
  • The only downside is that it’s not waterproof, so don’t go watching Brave with it. Yes, Brave is tear-jerking.

The Lashionista mascara is available at an affordable $21.90. And yes, I do recommend it. In fact, I’d much rather take this over Lancome’s Hypnose Doll Eyes anyday (review coming up soon!)

update 1: 10 Sept 2012: I’ve just realised that I’m featured on Maybelline’s microsite for its Lashionista product!

update 2: 13 Sept 2012: Wanna get your hands on this and a Maybelline product hamper worth more than $160?ย 

Leave a Reply

