The Battle of the BB Cushions

In celebration of my new makeshift lightbox (a combination of acrylic and cardboard sheets) and my new S95 canon camera, I’ve decided to do a more elaborate blog post on my BB cushions.

My collection of BB cushions :D

L-R: Hera UV Mist Cushion Cover C21, Laneige Snow BB Soothing Cushion 13 True Beige, IOPE Air Cushion EX Cover Shade 21 Cover Vanilla

As you can (or rather, can’t) see, the differences are barely visible

The differences are more obvious when applied on my arm. Hera blends in better while IOPE and Laneige don’t blend in as well. They also seem a little duller / more matte.

It’ll be really tough for me to try to pick a best one, but I’ve tried my best to break it down.

  1. Hera UV Mist Cushion: Good coverage + dewy glowy finish + lightweight and breathable + rosy pinkish + long-staying + doesn’t have much of a scent
  2. Iope Air Cushion Sunblock Ex Cover: Decent coverage + dewy finish (somewhat matte) + lightweight and breathable + pink with a tinge of yellow + medium-staying power + smells quite good
  3. Laneige Snow BB Soothing Cushion: Good coverage + dewy glowy finish + lightweight and breathable + pink with a tinge of yellow + medium-staying power + smells the best

There really isn’t much of a difference since they’re all formulated by the same parent company – Amore Pacific – and the technology and science behind these products are more or less the same. I love all my BB cushions, but if I really had to recommend one, my top pick will be the Hera UV Mist Cushion, followed by Laneige and then IOPE.

The reasons for my top pick?

  • The colour is closest to my skin tone – it has a rosy pink shade and isn’t as yellow as the rest (not that they’re super yellow. This is entirely on a comparative basis).
  • It lasts the longest.
  • It has a wonderful Kpop star-like glowy and dewy finish.
  • It has the most coverage, which is perfect for concealing my undereye dark circles.
  • And the most important reason? Shin Min Ah is Hera’s spokesperson and I love her :D
39 thoughts on “The Battle of the BB Cushions

  1. I didn’t even know Laneige came out with a shade 13!! Even their website doesn’t have that!

    Do you know what MAC shade you are? I am wondering if these shades will match me~ thanks!

    • Hehehe yep it’s new cos Laneige took their customers’ feedback into consideration and came out with a newer lighter shade for the Singapore market. Hmm I’m currently in Shanghai so I can’t test myself for MAC shades. Will let you know when I get back next week? :)

  2. Thank you so much for this comprehensive review! :)
    I am wondering, do you have to finish off with a powder? & do you touch up with the BB cushion throughout the day, or just with powder? I am new to this type of product, so I hope these are not silly questions. :P Thanks in advance :)

  3. Hey Su,

    I usually finish off with the Hera HD fix powder (click on the side bar under Hera). However, I only dust the powder on the sides + jawline + hairline of the face cos I prefer the dewy finish. The powder usually mattifies everything. It’s personal preference :)

    During the day, I touch up with the Hera UV Mist Cushion.

    There is a compact finishing powder for the Laneige Water Supreme range (perfect for setting or touch-ups on the go) and I’m planning to do a review within this week, so check back again? :D

    • Awesome! I will definitely check back often. :) Thank you so much for the detailed reply!
      Oh by the way, do you happen to know if the Hera BB cushion have an English ingredient list somewhere? I have been looking for it everywhere online, but can only find the English ingredient list for IOPE’s. :/

      • I’ve checked my Hera UV Mist cushion packaging, but there isn’t any English ingredient list… My Korean isn’t that awesome to translate chemical ingredients so I can’t help you there.. I’ll continue searching and if I find it, i’ll let you know?

  4. Hello~ I don’t need much coverage but I only want some skin tone correcting for school, so I’d prefer something light but long lasting. Which of the three do you recommend? Thanks :)

    • hi hi~ if it isn’t coverage you’re looking for, then I’d recommend IOPE cos it lasts really long. The coverage isn’t that strong but it does even out my skin tone and is really light weight. Laneige is also good – long-lasting and lightweight with a slight bit more coverage than IOPE. :)

    • hi sorry, what do you mean by dry matte? as in you’re asking if it has a matte finish or a dewy finish? all these three korean bb cushions are dewy finishes. I don’t like matte finishings :)

  5. Hi,I’m thinking of getting a BB cushion, I wish it will give me a natural looking, and will not turns out oily after a whole day long, i wish to get the Laneige one but it seems like very yellowish,my skin tone is kind a rosy pink, also wish to get the Hera one, coz its coilour might closer to my skin tone.but i didn’t know where can i get Hera products.I’m from Malaysia, do you have any website that can buy hera products?

  6. Hello!
    I kinda need some help here, I’m thinking of getting IOPE air cushion but am unsure of which shade suits me. I usually use shade #23 for example Missha Perfect Cover BB cream and #02 for Holika Holika Aqua Jelly Petit BB cream. Which do you think will suit my skin tone? And does the IOPE air cushion oxidise to become a darker shade?

    • Hi Jolynn, sorry for the late reply – It doesn’t really oxidise to a darker colour (not as obvious as some other bbs) so you’ll prolly have to get the closest match (which I’m thinking should be the C23) but I think it’s best that you try to swatch it? :)

  7. The topic of BB cushions has amazed me. XD After your review of the TFS Smart Cushion, I went to the three locations here in NY and only one sold it for $35. >< Yesterday I happened to see the Amore Pacific Color Control Cushion. Have you tried it? The amount of BB Cushions released is starting to get overwhelming. LOL.

  8. Hi I was wondering if the IOPE refill will fit into the Hera compact? Cause I bought my iope one off gmarket and somehow ended up buying 2 refills and not a compact, and I really want to try the Hera one. Thank you !

  9. hi. loved your review. it helped me decide between which bb cushions to purchase. may i ask if the Laneige refill will fit into the IOPE compact? Thank you! my friend accidentally bought the Laneige refill, when I told her I want the IOPE one, so i am considering trying out the Laneige one. If it doesn’t fit into the compact, i would want to cancel it though. Thanks! :)

  10. I have the IOPE one too and I really want to try the Hera cushion too. Do you think I can just buy the Hera Cushion Refill and snap it in my IOPE case??

  11. Pingback: the third quarter of last yearHolika Holika Face 2 Change CC Cream | Because every part of you can be beautiful, even your buns

  12. Hi, this comes late but I’m hoping you can still help me out (:

    I’ve been at a loss at which cushion to buy (there’s soo many). But I have really dry, and fair skin for an Asian with a lot of redness in my T-zone. It’s mainly the redness and my large pores I want to cover :/ So I’m thinking something long-lasting with good coverage. I’ve been leaning towards the Hera one, but I read in other reviews that it’s coverage isn’t that good and it tends to accentuate dry skin… What do you think?

    • Hi Momo,

      Yup, the Hera Uv Mist Cushion is pretty good. I used to use Hera UV Mist Cushion, which has good coverage and skin brightening qualities. And yes, it’s also true that it can accentuate dry skin.

      This happens because it contains some clay ingredients (the first version at least. not sure of the latest version cos I haven’t bought it). Clay tends to absorb oils and sebum, which is generally good for normal skin.

      However, since I’ve got dry-outside-oily-inside skin that eventually becomes all-over-oily skin by mid day, what the clay does is that it’ll result in the surface area losing more oil and getting drier, and thus more sebum will be produced to combat the dry surface, and thus result in even more sebum being produced. It’s a vicious cycle for me really.

      Currently, my faves are the IOPE Air Cushion XP which gives a great skin brightening effect with decent coverage, as well as the Sulwhasoo Evenfair Perfecting Cushion which gives good coverage, evens out skintone and has a nice glowy finish.

      Perhaps you’d like to target the source of the enlarged pores as well?

      For pores you can try Pore, $76 without GST, from IDS Clinic (which is the new and improved Comedone Formula from DRx Clinic that works wonders for me). You’ll need consultation first before you can buy the product, but if you get an apptmt before 30 may, you can quote my blog name and you’ll have free consultation with Dr SK Tan.

      For skin calming and soothing of redness, you can try Sulwhasoo’s TruFresh Soothing Mask, which you can leave on to sleep overnight, or wash off after 10 mins. I find that it calms my skin down a lot.

      Hope this helps! :)

  13. Hi Dalja,

    I am considering to try out the cushion foundation as I want something light to apply on my face when I want to take a break from my full make-up days, and it’s mainly to have some/ light coverage to my acne(s) and uneven skin tone, similar to the effect of a tinted sunblock.

    I’ve learnt that the cushion foundation in the market now has pretty high SPF, with rather light in texture (like you are not wearing make-up), I’m considering in getting one. After doing a little research online, I am quite keen in getting Hera UV Mist Cushion since it seems to be the better option, based on your review.

    Similar to your skin type, I have dry-outside-but-oily-inside kind of combination (asian) skin, I want something very light yet with some coverage/ skin tone evenning, which would you recommend for cushion foundation?

    Also, I’m quite fair with slight yellow undertone, usually for I will go for 2nd lightest colour when choosing liquid foundation. I know it’s hard to tell, but with the above information, can you suggest which colour range I should get for my cushion foundation? The reason I’m asking as I am likely to buy online unless the brand is Laneige; both Hera & Iope are not available in Singapore.

    Hope you can help me out with my enquiries.

    Thanks. :)

    Natty

  14. Hello! I have the Hera CC cream in a #13 (one in the black tube) which I love!

    I was thinking the Hera UV Mist cushion might be handy for touch ups during the day as portable and makeup wears.

    1/ do you think the two products are compatible to use together?

    2/ Do you think the C#21 will correspond ok with the #13 in the Hera CC cream? Am concerned might be too dark am fair.

    I’d love to hear from you, thought this might be something you’d know more about am in Australia and order online.

    Dolly!

  15. Pingback: Round-up: 5 Treatment Toners to Try | beautifulbuns : a beauty, travel & lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

